Play Like A Pro With The Best Acoustic Electric Guitars In 2018

In the good old days before the invention of the piezoelectric guitar pickup and acoustic-electric guitars, the way you used an acoustic guitar in a live performance was to try to mic it. Sound men across the planet hated this because the method was prone to feedback and the guitarist had to remain motionless otherwise the sound levels would fluctuate.

It was in the 1950’s that Gibson first attempted to produce an acoustic electric guitar. However, it did not provide a perfect acoustic sound. It wasn’t until Country Music legend Glenn Campbell asked Ovation Guitars to make him an acoustic-electric guitar that the modern version of the acoustic-electric guitar was born. Now they are one of the most widely sought-after musical instruments.

If you plan to do live performances, then you will do well with any of these top acoustic electric guitars which will sound fantastic on most guitar amps.

Defining The Best Guitars

Everybody will have a different definition of the best acoustic electric guitars. Some will equate it to best bang for your buck. Others will compare it to quality and tone. Others will mean the best for the type of guitar playing they do.

So I am not going to try to convince you which one is the best quality or best bang for your buck. Instead, I am going to show you guitars in different price ranges and let you decide which one is the best guitar for you. I do have three recommendations, but you are the one that has to determine if the acoustic-electric guitar is the right type for your style of music and playing ability.

If you need help deciding which acoustic electric guitar would be best for you, I suggest you read our Acoustic-Electric Guitar Buyers Guide.

In this article, you will find a quick comparison chart of the guitars, and then below you will find product listings for each acoustic electric guitar pulled from Amazon’s product database for you to compare.

back to menu ↑

Our Top Acoustic Electric Guitar Picks

Last update was on: September 21, 2018 7:31 am

back to menu ↑

How We Chose These Guitars For You

back to menu ↑

Why You Should Trust Us In Finding Your Next Guitar

We spent over 40 hours researching and writing this list of the best electro-acoustic guitars so you wouldn’t have to spend your time doing the research. We consulted with the top experts in the industry and coupled that with our own experience to bring you this list.  We do not accept free products or incentives when we review products to keep our opinions unbiased and helpful to our readers.

In making this list of the best electro-acoustic guitars, we kept three things in mind: Quality, affordability, and customer satisfaction.

back to menu ↑

Guitar Quality

As an avid guitar player myself, the last thing I want to do is cause you to buy a lousy guitar because of a review we gave. So when I decided to make this list of acoustic-electric guitars, quality was the number 1 consideration.

That is why you do not see off-brand knock-offs on this list. You only see the top brands in the guitar making industry. One thing I can say. All of these guitars you will want to use a hard shell case to carry around. You won’t want to shove them in those cheap gig bags that is for sure!

back to menu ↑

Guitar Affordability

Although our list of acoustic-electric guitars has axes that range from $200.00 to $1,000.00 these are not the highest priced acoustic-electric guitars by any way shape or form. Some of the most expensive guitars can run in the multiple thousands of dollars.

back to menu ↑

Customer Satisfaction With The Guitar Manufacturers

We spent the time reading all the customer reviews left on these acoustic-electric guitars to ensure that real guitar players will like any guitar we recommend. Every acoustic electric guitar we recommend is rated with four stars or better at the time of this writing.

9.3/10 Read review
93 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Taylor 100 Series 2017 110ce Dreadnought Acoustic-Electric Guitar Natural - $799.00
Last Amazon price update was: September 21, 2018 7:31 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Taylor 110ce Dreadnought

Taylor's 100 Series is a great guitar-playing experience accessible to everyone with these real wood instruments. 2017 models, like the 110ce Rosewood Dreadnought, have layered rosewood backs and sides, as well as new architecture for even more volume and dynamics.

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was in: September 21, 2018 7:31 am
8.3/10 Read review
83 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Taylor GS Mini-E Koa w/ Gig Bag - $799.00
Last Amazon price update was: September 21, 2018 7:31 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Taylor GS Mini-e Solid Koa Top

There's something undeniably inviting about the Taylor GS Mini's scaled-down size, yet a single strum reveals the impressive voice of a full-size guitar. That mix of portability and musicality has proven to be a winning combination that fits into so many scenarios in life, from the couch to the campfire to the concert hall.

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was in: September 21, 2018 7:31 am
8.3/10 Read review
83 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Fender Sonoran SCE Acoustic Electric Guitar (Black) - $349.99
Last Amazon price update was: September 21, 2018 7:31 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Fender Sonoran SCE

Fender's Sonoran SCE is decked out for even more sun-and-fun acoustic action, upgraded with a three-ply pickguard, bone nut and bridge saddle, and vintage-style Fender “Viking” bridge. It’s perfect for those who dig vintage styling and seek to ride the wave of Fender’s classic Southern California history and vibe.

Usually ships in 1-2 business days
Last update was in: September 21, 2018 7:31 am

back to menu ↑

Best Acoustic Electric Guitars Under $1,000.00

Guitars that are in the 1,000 dollar range are not for beginners. They are for experienced guitar players that want the best sound they can get. Here are our choices for a great sounding guitar for an accomplished guitar player.

7.5/10 Read review
75 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Yamaha AC3R acoustic-electric guitar - Natural - $899.99
Last Amazon price update was: September 21, 2018 11:32 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Yamaha A-Series AC3R

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was in: September 21, 2018 7:31 am

$899.99 $1,365.00

8.8/10 Read review
88 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Martin Road Series 2016 DRS1 - $759.00
Last Amazon price update was: September 21, 2018 7:31 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Martin Road Series DRS1 Dreadnought

Built on traditional styling and legendary Martin tone, the DRS1 acoustic-electric is one of the most affordable solid wood models they offer.

Usually ships in 24 hours
Last update was in: September 21, 2018 7:31 am

$759.00 $949.00

8.3/10 Read review
83 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Martin X Series DX1RAE Dreadnought Acoustic-Electric Guitar Natural - $599.00
Last Amazon price update was: September 21, 2018 8:34 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Martin X Series 2015 DX1RAE Dreadnought

The 6-string Martin DX1RAE acoustic-electric guitar features a D-14 platform, a dreadnought body designed to produce a powerful, rich sound that is perfect for live performance and in the studio.

Usually ships in 24 hours
Last update was in: September 21, 2018 7:31 am
7.8/10 Read review
78 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Epiphone EJ-200SCE Solid Top Cutaway Acoustic /Electric Guitar, Vintage Sunburst - $459.00
Price history
×
Price history for Epiphone EJ-200SCE Solid Top Cutaway Acoustic /Electric Guitar, Vintage Sunburst
Latest updates:
  • $459.00 - September 20, 2018
  • $699.96 - September 15, 2018
  • $499.00 - August 4, 2018
  • $699.96 - May 21, 2018
  • $699.97 - May 9, 2018
  • $499.00 - May 1, 2018
  • $699.97 - April 30, 2018
  • $499.00 - April 28, 2018
Since: April 17, 2018
  • Highest Price: $699.97 - April 17, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $459.00 - September 20, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: September 21, 2018 11:32 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Epiphone EJ-200SCE Solid Top Cutaway

Beautiful to behold, it has huge sound that you can easily amplify via the under-bridge pickup. Features a big jumbo maple body with a select spruce top, Moustache bridge, gold hardware, and crown rosewood fingerboard inlays.

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was in: September 21, 2018 7:31 am

back to menu ↑

The Top Acoustic-Electric Guitars Around $500 And Under

Although there are a lot of great acoustic-electric guitars under the 500 dollar mark, most of these are most suitable for beginner guitarists or those that are on a tight budget.

There is nothing wrong with these guitars. The will do the job quite well. It is just that they are not considered professional grade acoustic-electric guitars.

However, I know quite a few musicians that have some of these they use in a pinch.

80 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Yamaha FGX830C Folk Acoustic-Electric Guitar - $469.99
Last Amazon price update was: September 21, 2018 3:33 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Yamaha FGX830C Solid Top Cutaway

Derived from the FG830 which has a solid spruce top and rosewood back/sides, the FGX830C has a cutaway body and the electric system. Yamaha's proprietary under-saddle piezo pickup and System66 analog preamp ensure the solid plugged-in performance.

Usually ships in 24 hours
Last update was in: September 21, 2018 7:31 am

$469.99 $499.99

70 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: PF15ECE Dreadnought Cutaway Acoustic-Electric Guitar, Natural High Gloss - $199.99
Last Amazon price update was: September 21, 2018 3:32 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Ibanez PF15ECE Dreadnought Cutaway

The Ibanez PF15ECE Performance Series Acoustic-Electric Cutaway Guitar uses mahogany back and sides to provide rich, warm lows and sweet sustain. The Fishman Sonicore pickup and SST preamp assure an accurate reproduction of the guitar's natural tone when plugged in.

Usually ships in 24 hours
Last update was in: September 21, 2018 7:31 am

back to menu ↑

Why Are Some Guitars More Expensive Than Others?

There is a long list of reasons why some acoustic-electric guitars are more expensive than others. One of the primary factors is how and where it is built.

If your guitar is handcrafted in the USA, then it will be more expensive than if it was pre-fabricated in a factory in China.

Wood also plays a big part in the cost of a guitar. Premium guitars are made with premium wood where the lower cost guitars are made of laminate woods, also known as plywood. Laminate woods do not resonate as well as solid wood pieces. However, they are more predictable in different weather types and temperatures. Many players find laminates work great for live stage performances.

Having shared all this with you, I don’t want you to think that you will get an inferior guitar. There are many affordable, high quality, guitars at an affordable price point.

Duke Taber is the owner of 3 successful websites and is now taking his skill as a writer and using it to help non-profit organizations and leaders around the world.

We would be happy to hear your thoughts on this item.

      Leave a reply