Best Acoustic Electric Guitars

Play Like A Pro With The Best Acoustic Electric Guitars In 2018

In the good ole days before the invention of the piezo electric guitar pickup and acoustic electric guitars, the way you used an acoustic guitar in a live performance was to try to mic it. Sound men across the planet hated this because the method was prone to feedback and the guitarist had to remain motionless otherwise the sound levels would fluctuate.

It was in the 1950’s that Gibson first attempted to produce an acoustic electric guitar. However it did not produce a very good acoustic sound. It wasn’t until Country Music legend Glenn Campbell asked Ovation Guitars to make him an acoustic electric guitar that the modern version of the acoustic electric guitar was born. Now they are one of the most widely sought after musical instruments.

If you plan to do live performances then you will do well with any of these top acoustic electric guitars which will sound wonderful on most acoustic guitar amps.

Defining The Best Acoustic Electric Guitar

Everybody will have a different definition of best acoustic electric guitars. Some will equate it to best bang for your buck. Others will equate it to quality and tone. Yet others will simply mean the best for the type of guitar playing they do.

So I am not going to try to convince you which one is the best quality or best bang for your buck. Instead I am going to show you acoustic electric guitars in different price ranges and let you decide which one is the best guitar for you. I do have 3 recommendations but you are the one that has to decide if the acoustic electric guitar is the right type for your style of music and playing ability.

If you need help deciding which acoustic electric guitar would be best for you, I suggest you read our Acoustic Electric Guitar Buyers Guide.

In this article you will find a quick comparison chart of the best noise cancelling headphones, and then below you will find product listings for each acoustic electric guitar pulled from Amazon’s product database for you to compare.

back to menu ↑

Our Top Acoustic Electric Guitar Picks

Editor's Choice Taylor 110CE Review And Best Price Comparison

Taylor 110CE Review And Best Price Comparison

Are YOU Looking For A Great Sounding Guitar? DISCOVER How YOU Can Sound Like The Pros After Reading This Taylor 210E ...

9.3
2 Taylor GS Mini-E Koa Review And Best Price Comparison

Taylor GS Mini-E Koa Review And Best Price Comparison

Are YOU Looking For A Great Sounding Guitar? DISCOVER How YOU Can Sound Like The Pros After Reading This Taylor GS ...

8.3
3 Fender Sonoran SCE Review And Best Price Comparison

Fender Sonoran SCE Review And Best Price Comparison

Are YOU Looking For A Great Sounding Guitar? DISCOVER How YOU Can Sound Like The Pros After Reading This Fender Sonoran ...

8.3
4 Yamaha AC3R Review And Best Price Comparison

Yamaha AC3R Review And Best Price Comparison

Are YOU Looking For A Great Sounding Guitar? DISCOVER How YOU Can Sound Like The Pros After Reading This Yamaha AC3R ...

7.5
5 Martin DRS1 Review And Best Price Comparison

Martin DRS1 Review And Best Price Comparison

Are YOU Looking For A Great Sounding Guitar? DISCOVER How YOU Can Sound Like The Pros After Reading This Martin DRS1 ...

8.8
6 Martin DX1RAE Review And Best Price Comparison

Martin DX1RAE Review And Best Price Comparison

Are YOU Looking For A Great Sounding Guitar? DISCOVER How YOU Can Sound Like The Pros After Reading This Martin DX1RAE ...

8.3
7 Epiphone EJ-200SCE Review And Best Price Comparison

Epiphone EJ-200SCE Review And Best Price Comparison

Are YOU Looking For A Great Sounding Guitar? DISCOVER How YOU Can Sound Like The Pros After Reading This Epiphone ...

7.8
Best value 8 Yamaha FGX830C Review And Best Price Comparison

Yamaha FGX830C Review And Best Price Comparison

Are YOU Looking For A Great Sounding Guitar? DISCOVER How YOU Can Sound Like The Pros After Reading This Yamaha ...

8
Best price 9 Ibanez PF15ECE Review And Best Price Comparison

Ibanez PF15ECE Review And Best Price Comparison

Are YOU Looking For A Great Sounding Guitar? DISCOVER How YOU Can Sound Like The Pros After Reading This Ibanez PF15ECE ...

7

back to menu ↑

How We Chose These Acoustic Electric Guitars For You

Why You Should Trust Us In Finding Your Next Acoustic Electric Guitar

We spent over 40 hours researching and writing this list of the best noise cancelling headphones so you wouldn’t have to spend your time doing the research. We consulted with the top experts in the industry and coupled that with our own personal experience to bring you this list.  We do not accept free products or incentives when we review products in order to keep our opinions unbiased and helpful to our readers.

In making this list of the best acoustic electric guitars we kept 3 things in mind: Quality, affordability, and customer satisfaction.

Guitar Quality

As an avid guitar player myself the last thing I want to do is cause you to buy a bad guitar because of a review we gave. So when I decided to make this list of acoustic electric guitars, quality was the number 1 consideration.

That is why you do not see off brand knock offs on this list. You only see the top brands in the guitar making industry. One thing I can say. All of these guitars you will want to use a hard shell case to carry around. You won’t want to just shove them in those cheap gig bags that is for sure!

Guitar Affordability

Although our list of acoustic electric guitars has axes that range from $200.00 to $1,000.00 these are not the highest priced acoustic electric guitars by any way shape or form. Some of the most expensive guitars can run in the multiple thousand of dollars.

Customer Satisfaction With The Guitar Manufacterers

We spent the time reading all the customer reviews left on these acoustic electric guitars to ensure that any guitar we recommend is well liked by real guitar players. Every acoustic electric guitar we recommend was rated with 4 stars or better at the time of this writing.

9.3/10 Read review
93 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Taylor 100 Series 2017 110ce Rosewood Dreadnought Acoustic-Electric Guitar Natural - $799.00
Last Amazon price update was: June 18, 2018 9:00 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Taylor 110ce Dreadnought - ES2 Electronics, Natural

Taylor's 100 Series is a great guitar-playing experience accessible to everyone with these real wood instruments. 2017 models, like the 110ce Rosewood Dreadnought, have layered rosewood backs and sides, as well as new architecture for even more volume and dynamics.

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was in: June 18, 2018 9:00 pm
8.3/10 Read review
83 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Taylor GS Mini Series GS Mini-e Koa Acoustic-Electric Guitar Natural - $799.00
Last Amazon price update was: June 18, 2018 9:00 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Taylor GS Mini-e Solid Koa Top ESB w/Gig Bag with case

There's something undeniably inviting about the Taylor GS Mini's scaled-down size, yet a single strum reveals the impressive voice of a full-size guitar. That mix of portability and musicality has proven to be a winning combination that fits into so many scenarios in life, from the couch to the campfire to the concert hall.

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was in: June 18, 2018 9:00 pm
8.3/10 Read review
83 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Fender Sonoran SCE v2 Acoustic-Electric Guitar Black - $223.99
Price history
×
Price history for Fender Sonoran SCE v2 Acoustic-Electric Guitar Black
Latest updates:
  • $223.99 - June 15, 2018
  • $279.99 - May 29, 2018
  • $349.99 - April 17, 2018
Since: April 17, 2018
  • Highest Price: $349.99 - April 17, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $223.99 - June 15, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: June 18, 2018 9:00 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Fender Sonoran SCE Acoustic Electric Guitar, Rosewood Fingerboard, Natural (v2)

Fender's Sonoran SCE is decked out for even more sun-and-fun acoustic action, upgraded with a three-ply pickguard, bone nut and bridge saddle, and vintage-style Fender “Viking” bridge. It’s perfect for those who dig vintage styling and seek to ride the wave of Fender’s classic Southern California history and vibe.

Usually ships in 1-2 business days
Last update was in: June 18, 2018 9:00 pm

back to menu ↑

Best Acoustic Electric Guitars Under $1,000.00

Guitars that are in the $1,000 dollar range are not for beginners. They are for experienced guitar players that want the best sound they can possibly get. Here are our choices for a great sounding guitar for an experienced guitar player.

7.5/10 Read review
75 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Yamaha A-Series AC3R Concert Cutaway Acoustic-Electric Guitar - $719.99
Price history
×
Price history for Yamaha A-Series AC3R Concert Cutaway Acoustic-Electric Guitar
Latest updates:
  • $719.99 - May 22, 2018
  • $899.99 - April 17, 2018
Since: April 17, 2018
  • Highest Price: $899.99 - April 17, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $719.99 - May 22, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: June 19, 2018 12:00 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Yamaha A-Series AC3R Acoutic-Electric Guitar - 2017 Model, Vintage Natural

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was in: June 18, 2018 9:00 pm

$899.99 $1,365.00

8.8/10 Read review
88 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Martin Road Series DRS1 Dreadnought Acoustic-Electric Guitar Natural - $759.00
Last Amazon price update was: June 18, 2018 10:00 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Martin Road Series DRS1 Dreadnought Acoustic-Electric Guitar Natural

Built on traditional styling and legendary Martin tone, the DRS1 acoustic-electric is one of the most affordable solid wood models they offer.

Usually ships in 24 hours
Last update was in: June 18, 2018 9:00 pm
8.3/10 Read review
83 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Martin X Series DX1RAE Dreadnought Acoustic-Electric Guitar Natural - $599.00
Last Amazon price update was: June 19, 2018 12:59 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Martin X Series 2015 DX1RAE Dreadnought Acoustic-Electric Guitar Natural

The 6-string Martin DX1RAE acoustic-electric guitar features a D-14 platform, a dreadnought body designed to produce a powerful, rich sound that is perfect for live performance and in the studio.

Usually ships in 24 hours
Last update was in: June 18, 2018 9:00 pm
7.8/10 Read review
78 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Epiphone EJ-200SCE Acoustic-Electric Guitar - $459.00
Last Amazon price update was: June 18, 2018 10:00 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Epiphone EJ-200SCE Solid Top Cutaway Acoustic /Electric Guitar, Natural

Beautiful to behold, it has huge sound that you can easily amplify via the under-bridge pickup. Features a big jumbo maple body with a select spruce top, Moustache bridge, gold hardware, and crown rosewood fingerboard inlays.

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was in: June 18, 2018 9:00 pm

back to menu ↑

The Top Acoustic Electric Guitars Around $500 And Under

Although there are a lot of great acoustic electric guitars under the 500 dollar mark, most of these are most suitable for beginner guitarists or those that are on a tight budget.

There is nothing wrong with these guitars. The will do the job quite well. It is just that they are not considered professional grade acoustic electric guitars.

However I know quite a few musicians that have some of these they use in a pinch.

80 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Yamaha FGX830C Folk Acoustic-Electric Guitar - $469.99
Last Amazon price update was: June 19, 2018 12:00 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Yamaha FGX830C Solid Top Cutaway Acoustic-Electric Guitar, Natural

Derived from the FG830 which has a solid spruce top and rosewood back/sides, the FGX830C has a cutaway body and the electric system. Yamaha's proprietary under-saddle piezo pickup and System66 analog preamp ensure the solid plugged-in performance.

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was in: June 18, 2018 9:00 pm
70 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Ibanez PF Series PF15ECE Dreadnought Cutaway Acoustic-Electric Cutaway Guitar Gloss Black - $199.99
Last Amazon price update was: June 18, 2018 10:00 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Ibanez PF15ECE Dreadnought Cutaway Acoustic-Electric Cutaway Guitar Black

The Ibanez PF15ECE Performance Series Acoustic-Electric Cutaway Guitar uses mahogany back and sides to provide rich, warm lows and sweet sustain. The Fishman Sonicore pickup and SST preamp assure an accurate reproduction of the guitar's natural tone when plugged in.

Usually ships in 24 hours
Last update was in: June 18, 2018 9:00 pm

Buyers Guide

back to menu ↑

Acoustic Electric Guitar Buyers Guide

Buying an acoustic electric guitar is fun! When I am in the market for a new guitar I am like a kid in a candy shop. There are so many options and varieties to choose from it is hard to make a decision.

The most important question you need to ask yourself is “What am I going to use my guitar for?” Am I just going to play at home? Am I going to do gigs with it? Or am I going to try my hand at self-recording? This will determine the type of acoustic electric guitar you are going to purchase and the price point you are looking at.

Basic Components Of An Acoustic Guitar

best acoustic electric guitars
The basic parts of an acoustic electric guitar are…..

  • The Binding
  • The Bridge
  • The Fingerboard
  • Frets
  • Headstock
  • Machine Heads
  • Neck
  • Pick Guard
  • Fret Position Marker Inlays
  • Rosette
  • Strap Button
  • Strings
  • Top
  • Tuning Keys

Acoustic Electric Guitar Tonewoods – Different Woods For Different Sounds

Guitar makers and craftsmen, called luthiers, have found that the single most important piece of wood in making a guitar is the top wood. Different woods resonate differently with the sounds. Finger players will want a different type of wood than strummers, and strummers will want a different type of wood than pickers.

After the top wood, the wood used in the back, sides, and neck are the next important wood types used in an acoustic electric guitar.

It is important to remember that the types of wood used in a guitars construction can only do so much. It is just as important to take into consideration the quality of the craftsmanship in constructing the guitar as well as the individual quality of each piece of wood used. You can have a good piece of spruce or a bad piece of spruce. The same goes for the other types of wood used as well.

Here some of the more common types of wood used in crafting an acoustic electric guitar and their own particular qualities.

Spruce

Spruce is one of the more common woods used in crafting guitars. The most common type of spruce is the Sitka Spruce. It is a very rigid wood for being considered a softwood. It is very lightweight which is why guitar makers and players like it. Spruce gives a very direct sound and keeps its clarity when being played forcefully.

Cedar

Cedar is a popular top wood because of its warm rich sound. Most guitar craftsmen try to use Western Red Cedar when building a guitar designed for finger players. It is a very responsive wood for those with a light touch.

Mahogany

Mahogany topped guitars have a great punchy sound that works well if you are going to play country music or the blues. When acoustic guitar craftsmen use mahogany in the sides or back of the guitar then it gives the guitar a great range of overtones coming out of it.

Maple

When acoustic guitars are made with Sugar, Big Leaf, or Bearclaw Maple, they have a more “true” or “transparent” sound. This means that what is being produced by the guitar is not colored or shaded by many overtones.

Rosewood

Rosewood is known for its high acoustic response rate. This is why it is used so often in bridges. It gives you a complex sound filled with lots of dark and warm overtones. It provides a rich sound both in the low ends and in the mid and high ranges.

acoustic electric guitar body stylesAcoustic Guitar Body Styles

There are 3 basic acoustic guitar body styles. They are the dreadnought, the classic, and the jumbo.

The dreadnought is by far the most popular and versitile of the 3 shapes. It was launched by CF Martin years ago and was named after an old English warship. Its distinctives is its rounded shoulders and the fact that most dreadnoughts join with the neck at the 14th fret.

The dreadnought has by far the most even balance between size, volume, and ease of play.

Next comes the classic guitar body style. I would wager that if you were given a guitar as a child, you played one with the classic guitar body style. These are more commonly called classical guitars. They have the nylon strings and are the easiest to on your fingers to play. They are not as large as the dreadnoughts.

Classical guitars have a Spanish origin and accounts for the flamenco style of guitar playing associated with them. They are normally smaller in size than their steel stringed cousins.

Finally we have the jumbo guitar body style. The jumbo guitar lives up to its name. It has a jumbo size and jumbo volume. It was first released in 1937 by Gibson and was used as a rhythm guitar to complement the more precise lead guitars. Jumbo guitars are meant to be used in concert with other guitars. It is not well suited for standing on its own.

image of an acoustic electric guitar7 Things To Look For In Your Next Acoustic Electric Guitar

There are 7 things you should consider when purchasing your new acoustic electric guitar. The level of importance of each of these things will depend on what you are going to use your new guitar for.

Tonewood

As I mentioned earlier, the tonewood will change the way your guitar sounds. Pay attention to what the top is made of. This is the most important piece on the guitar. Understand that the rarer the wood, the more expensive the guitar will be and hardwoods are becoming scarcer over time.

Body Style

I just covered the different types of body styles. However remember that the body style will effect both the ease of play and the sound that is projected. Some acoustic electric guitars come with a cutaway body style that gives you easier access to the fret board. You might want to take this into consideration as well.

Also the size of the guitar might matter. If you are just going to use it for home use or maybe take it with you on trips, you might want a smaller size.

The Neck

The neck can be a very important consideration. If you are like me, I was gifted with short, fat, stubby fingers. A wide neck makes a guitar much harder to play for me. The thickness and width of the neck is generally based on the size of the guitar. Many guitars necks are listed as 12 or 14 fret necks but this is not the size of the neck. This is referring to the amount of frets are clear of the guitar body.

I am one of those people that are in-between sizes. I can play a full sized guitar but a 3/4 size guitar is much easier to play for me.

Tuning Machines Or Pegs

The type of tuning machines, or sometimes called pegs is important. If they are not very good quality then your guitar will need to be constantly tuned. It will lose its tune as you play. Enclosed tuning machines are the best. They resist corrosion and do not get dust in them. They will last much longer.

The Bridge And Fingerboard

The materials of the bridge and fingerboard or fret board do not have a lot of effect on the sound quality. However they do have an effect on ease of play. Some guitar players like to lower the height of the bridge to lower the strings so they do not have to press so hard in order to lay the strings across the frets. The downside to this is that if you lower the strings too far, they can buzz on other frets or will buzz if you press too hard.

The Guitar Finish

The type of finish may have a slight effect on the tone of your guitar. However it is really beyond your control the type of finish that is on your guitar unless you have a guitar custom built for you. Most quality guitar manufacturers are aware of this and choose appropriately.

The finish is put on the guitar to protect it. It is usually one layer of stain or paint followed by several layers of clear coat finish.

The Guitar Electronics

Acoustic electric guitars come with pickups and pre-amplifiers already installed in them. These are either placed in a hole in the side of the guitar or mounted inside the guitar body. Some acoustic electric guitars come with not only a pickup and pre-amp but comes with an EQ and a tuner as well. I have even seen some with special effects electronics as well.

You will want to make sure that you have volume and tone controls. The rest is just bells and whistles.

back to menu ↑

Why Are Some Guitars More Expensive Than Others?

There is a long list of reasons why some acoustic electric guitars are more expensive than others. One of the primary factors is how and where it is built.

If your guitar is hand crafted in the USA then it will be more expensive than if it was pre-fabricated in a factory in China.

Image of a Yamaha guitar in a Yamaha ac3r reviewWood also plays a big part in the cost of a guitar. Premium guitars are made with premium wood where the lower cost guitars are made of laminate woods, also known as plywood. Laminate woods do not resonate as well as solid wood pieces. However they are more predictable in different weather types and temperatures. Many players find laminates work great for live stage performances.

Having shared all this with you, I don’t want you to think that you will get an inferior guitar. There are many affordable, high quality, guitars at an affordable price point.

Whether you are looking to buy your first acoustic electric guitar, or you have purchased many, it always helps to review how to choose a guitar. We all want the best acoustic electric guitar for the money. So I decided to share with you what I have learned about how to choose an acoustic electric guitar over the last 40 years of being a guitar player.

back to menu ↑

3 Tips On How To Choose An Acoustic Electric Guitar​

best acoustic electric guitarsI don’t want to go into great depth here. I could write 5,000 words about choosing a guitar, but these three things will help you wrap your head around what is important in choosing a guitar.

Price​ Of The Guitar

In choosing the best acoustic electric guitar for you the first thing we have to deal with is price. You see, it does no good for me to talk about the types of wood or the types of electronics if you do not have the budget for high quality handcrafted solid wood guitars. So ask yourself these questions.

  • Is this guitar for a student or beginner guitar player? If so, then you need a lower priced acoustic electric guitar.​
  • Will I be using this guitar for live performances or will it just be used for personal enjoyment? If it is being used for live performances then you need a mid to higher priced guitar. If it is just for personal enjoyment then you can consider purchasing a lower priced guitar unless you just want a really nice guitar and are willing to pay the price.
  • Will I be using this guitar to record music professionally? If your answer is yes, then you really need to consider purchasing a higher end acoustic electric guitar. A Taylor or Martin guitar can run you as high as $3,000.00
    The best choice in a guitar for you will be one that meets the need that you have.

Wood Used In The Guitar

The next thing you need to consider is wood. Now I am just going to give you a brief overview of woods in a guitar. I don’t want to make this article a novel.

The first thing you need to consider is if the guitar has a solid wood face or plywood. (The manufacturers s​pin this term as laminate.) It is plywood with a solid wood top laminate. Plywood (laminates) do not give you the same tone as a solid wood face. It does not resonate as well because of the lower quality wood used in the plywood.

Usually only the less expensive guitars use plywood.

After that, you need to check which type of solid wood is used. Harder woods like spruce give of a clear tone but will lack deep rich tones. Softer woods like cedar or mahogany give off a deeper richer tone but do not have as much clarity and punch.

Ask yourself whether you will use your guitar for picking and doing guitar riffs o​r if you will be strumming and providing background sound for the lead musicians. If you are going to be picking and doing riffs then you need a harder wood and if strumming a softer wood.

best acoustic electric guitarsGuitar Electronics

All acoustic electric guitars come with internal pickups. That is why they are called acoustic electric. However not all pickups are created equal.

There are two types of electronic pickups found in acoustic electric guitars. One is a Piezoelectric pickup found in the bridge of the guitar, or a small microphone pickup found in the body of the guitar. Some guitars come with both styles of pickups.

​If you are using your guitar in a live setting like on a stage for a concert, you will want a guitar that uses a piezoelectric pickup rather than a mic pickup. This is because you will have monitors pointed towards you and the mic pickup will pick up the monitor sound coming at you and cause feedback. If you are using your guitar in quieter settings, the microphone pickup works better.

Normally piezoelectric pickups are clearer and mic pickups give you a deeper sound depth.​

8 Things To Consider In Buying An Acoustic Electric Guitar​

I found a great video on what to consider when choosing an acoustic guitar. Each of these things are just as important in choosing an acoustic electric guitar as well.

back to menu ↑

Final Thoughts On Choosing Your Acoustic Electric Guitar

In the 40 years I have been playing guitar I have ran into some great guitars and some duds. Pay attention to the customer reviews. Musicians are picky people. They will let you know if a guitar is a dud or not.

Also remember that you get what you pay for. Guitars made out of plywood will never sound as good as guitars made out of solid wood faces. Guitars made in a factory will never be as good as hand crafted guitars. As long as you remember these things you won’t have expectations that are greater than what is reasonable.

I hope that this article on how to choose an acoustic electric guitar has helped you go into your next guitar purchase informed on what to look for in your next guitar. Let me know if it has helped you or not.​

If you haven’t purchased your next acoustic electric guitar, you might want to check out our list of the best electro-acoustic guitars on the market today. Or you can read our complete acoustic electric guitar reviews and informative acoustic electric guitar articles.

At Taber’s Best Reviews We Have Reviewed These Acoustic Electric Guitar Manufacturers

  • Fender Acoustic Electric Guitars
  • Yamaha Acoustic Electric Guitars
  • Martin Acoustic Electric Guitars
  • Taylor Acoustic Electric Guitars
  • Epiphone Acoustic Electric Guitars
  • Ibanez Acoustic Electric Guitars

Check out our complete reviews below.

Acoustic Electric Guitar Reviews And Articles

Best value

Are YOU Looking For A Great Sounding Guitar? DISCOVER How YOU Can Sound Like The Pros After Reading This Yamaha FGX730SC Review:.

Best price

Are YOU Looking For A Great Sounding Guitar? DISCOVER How YOU Can Sound Like The Pros After Reading This Ibanez PF15ECE Review:.

Are YOU Looking For A Great Sounding Guitar? DISCOVER How YOU Can Sound Like The Pros After Reading This Martin DRS1 Review.

Editor's Choice

Are YOU Looking For A Great Sounding Guitar? DISCOVER How YOU Can Sound Like The Pros After Reading This Taylor 210E Deluxe Review.

Are YOU Looking For A Great Sounding Guitar? DISCOVER How YOU Can Sound Like The Pros After Reading This Fender Sonoran SCE Review.

Are YOU Looking For A Great Sounding Guitar? DISCOVER How YOU Can Sound Like The Pros After Reading This Taylor GS Mini-E Koa Review.

Are YOU Looking For A Great Sounding Guitar? DISCOVER How YOU Can Sound Like The Pros After Reading This Martin DX1RAE Review.

Are YOU Looking For A Great Sounding Guitar? DISCOVER How YOU Can Sound Like The Pros After Reading This Yamaha AC3R Review.

Are YOU Looking For A Great Sounding Guitar? DISCOVER How YOU Can Sound Like The Pros After Reading This Epiphone EJ-200SCE Review.

What Is An Acoustic Electric Guitar? What Does The Term Acoustic Electric Guitar Mean? DISCOVER What Makes This Guitar Different Than Others.

Do YOu Want To Learn How To Record An Acoustic Electric Guitar? DISCOVER The Two Methods YOU Can Use When Recording YOUR Acoustic Electric Guitar.

Are YOU Thinking About Buying An Acoustic Electric Guitar But Do Not Know How To Choose One? Check Out This INFORMATIVE Article On What To Look For In A Guitar.

Do YOU Want To DISCOVER How To Tune An Acoustic Electric Guitar? Learn The 3 Methods REVEALED In This Informative Article.

START Sounding Like The Pros. DISCOVER All The Important Features To Consider When Purchasing An Acoustic Electric Guitar In This INFORMATIVE Acoustic Electric ...

Do YOU Want To Have A Great Sounding Guitar? COMPARE The Best Acoustic Electric Guitars On The Market And NEVER Sound Like An Amateur Again!

Duke Taber is the owner of 3 successful websites and is now taking his skill as a webmaster and using it to help non-profit organizations and leaders around the world.

We would be happy to hear your thoughts on this item.

      Leave a reply