Best Audio Interfaces For Home Studio Recording

The Top Rated Audio Interfaces In 2018

Back in the day, that time in life when my bandmates and I could support long hair with our bald heads, we used to get creative in making recordings of our band. Sometimes we would use an old cassette player. If we got real fancy, we would use a reel to reel recorder.

The sky is the limit on what you can do with an audio interface.

Today, technology has taken us much further than we ever could imagine. Gone are the days of cassettes and reel to reel recorders. Now, you can use computers with an audio interface. With programs like Audacity and Garage Band, the sky is the limit as to what you can do.

Couple your talent with the best audio interface you can afford, and you too can produce a professional sounding recording that is ready to be the next iTunes hit. That is why we spent hours researching the best interfaces for you. Hopefully, when you hit the big time, you will remember us and buy us a cup of coffee! 🙂

We spent hours researching and testing each interface so our list of the audio interfaces is the best that can be found on the internet. Our research included 2 channel, 4 channel, and multi-channel units. There are some upper-end models and some lesser priced models as well for those that cannot justify an expensive interface.

We tested them using some of the heaviest metal found, the sweetest symphonies, and with podcasts featuring all different types of speaking styles. We also looked at the size and user controls, battery life when applicable, and how easy they were to hook up to your computer.

In this article, you will find a quick comparison chart of the best interfaces, and then below you will find a mini review of each interface.

Our Top Audio Interface Picks For You

Last update was on: November 16, 2018 9:12 pm

back to menu ↑

How We Chose These Interfaces

Why You Should Trust Us

We spent over 40 hours researching and writing this list of the best audio interfaces so you wouldn’t have to spend your time doing the research. We consulted with the top experts in the interface and audio recording industry and coupled that with our own experience to bring you this list.  We do not accept free products or incentives when we review products to keep our opinions unbiased and helpful to our readers.

In making this list of interfaces, we kept three things in mind: Features, price, and customer satisfaction.

Features

One of the most important things about purchasing a new interface is the features that the interface have. Does it have different special effects and settings? Is it easy to operate? How well is it constructed? What type of warranty does the interface have? How many audio inputs and audio outputs does it have?

All of these things are important in choosing your new audio interface, or deciding which interface will be a good gift for a friend or loved one. So that is what we looked for in an audio interface. We only picked audio interfaces that had one or more of these options.

We spent hours researching and writing this list of the audio interfaces so you wouldn’t have to spend your time doing the research. Now you can start spending your time creating beautiful music with your new audio interface.

Audio Interface Price

We kept the price range under $600.00 or less so that anyone can afford an audio interface. That being said, the pricier interfaces usually are the better quality products that have better sound and special effects. It is how things work in this world. You get what you pay for.

However, if you don’t need the absolute best audio interface right off the bat, we have a couple of options for you at the end of the article that is quite inexpensive.

Most people buy an audio interface to make their life easier and the quality of their music better. We made sure that we only listed the interfaces that will accomplish that goal.

Customer Satisfaction

Every audio interface that we have listed are rated by customers at 80% or higher depending on the rating system used on different websites. We looked at Amazon, Guitar Center, Walmart, and the manufacturer’s website. They are either four stars or higher at the time of the review.

We also read all the individual customer reviews to see how well the manufacturer responded to customer issues and how well people recommended these interfaces. We only took into account customers with a verified purchase. They are real buyers reviewing the product.

back to menu ↑

Interfaces For Your Home Studio

Picking the best interface for you depends upon your needs.

  • Do you have a complete band or are you going to be using your audio interface to record solo tracks?
  • Is this for your pleasure or are you going to distribute what you record with your interface?
  • How many instruments do you need to record with the audio interface at one time?
  • Do you need special effects?
  • What type of computer do you need to interface with?

These are the type of questions you need to think about when buying an audio interface. Not all of the interfaces will fit your need.

Here is our list of the audio interfaces that we think you should consider.

8.5/10 Read review
85 %
Last Amazon price update was: November 16, 2018 2:12 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

MOTU UltraLite-MK3

The performance of this product was wonderful with the Mac. With Windows not so much.

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was on: November 16, 2018 9:12 pm
9.3/10 Read review
93 %
Last Amazon price update was: November 16, 2018 2:12 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Audient iD14

If you are looking for a powerful yet small package, then Audient iD14 is the perfect match for you.  It has the backing of Audient’s own design and software along with the great quality sound.

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was on: November 16, 2018 9:12 pm
9.1/10 Read review
91 %
Last Amazon price update was: November 16, 2018 8:11 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 (2nd Gen)

With little effort you will be able to masterfully produce great mixes and creating sounds through this device as it has four-line inputs along with eight ADAT inputs.

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was on: November 16, 2018 9:12 pm

Other Top Interfaces

There were a lot of good choices in the audio interface category. We did not want to fail to give credit where credit was due. So here are 3 more audio interfaces that we feel would be a good choice for the money as well. We just didn’t find them quite the best of the best.

8.3/10 Read review
83 %
Last Amazon price update was: November 16, 2018 11:12 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

PreSonous Advanced Recording AudioBox 44VSL System

Its four-in and four-out channels fit into almost anyone’s needs.  The sturdy but small design makes it perfect to port along with you wherever you go.

Last update was on: November 16, 2018 9:12 pm
9.4/10 Read review
94 %
Last Amazon price update was: November 16, 2018 11:12 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Audient iD4

Audient is famous for manufacturing groundbreaking products and they have done the same with their Audient iD4.  You get a ton of features in an extremely small package.  The iD4 is small yet powerful.

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was on: November 16, 2018 9:12 pm
8.6/10 Read review
86 %
Last Amazon price update was: November 16, 2018 5:11 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

AudioBox iTwo

We believe Presonus succeeds in providing a high-quality product at an affordable rate through their AudioBox iTwo.

Usually ships in 24 hours
Last update was on: November 16, 2018 9:12 pm

The Best Inexpensive Audio Interfaces

90 %
Last Amazon price update was: November 16, 2018 6:12 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Tascam US-2x2 USB

While there are several competitor brands in the market, there is definitely a soft corner for Tascam due to the dozens of additional, unique features that they are offering to their customers.

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was on: November 16, 2018 9:12 pm
9.4/10 Read review
94 %
Last Amazon price update was: November 16, 2018 9:11 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Scarlett 2i2 (2nd Gen)

Focusrite has crushed the competition with its second-gen Scarlett 2i2.  With lots of improvements from the first generation, the second-generation Scarlett 2i2 is one of the best audio interfaces on the market.

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was on: November 16, 2018 9:12 pm
9.5/10 Read review
95 %
Last Amazon price update was: November 16, 2018 8:12 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

M-Audio M-Track 2X2M

The M-audio M-track 2x2M is an exceptional product, which makes sure that the joy of audio recording is not diminished through the difficulties of technology.

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was on: November 16, 2018 9:12 pm

Final Thoughts On These Audio Interfaces

After doing the research on the best audio interfaces, it made me want to get out my old guitar and start recording again. You can do so much more with these machines than we were able to do back in the day. I feel a little envious of your future.

Taber’s Best Reviews has reviewed these audio interface manufacturers.

  • Motu
  • Focusrite
  • Tascam
  • PreSonus
  • Native Instruments
  • M-Audio
  • Audient

If you need more information, then check out our audio interface reviews and our informative buying guide. Or you can check out our article on the best audio interface for Windows 10

Our Team Spent Hours Researching The Best Audio Interfaces Available. COMPARE Our Findings So YOU Can Make An INFORMED Decision #music #musicstudio #audiointerface #musicroom #TabersBestReviews

Duke Taber is the owner of 3 successful websites and is now taking his skill as a writer and using it to help non-profit organizations and leaders around the world.

We would be happy to hear your thoughts on this item.

      Leave a reply

      Pin
      Share
      Tweet