Best Dash Cams For Truckers – Necessary Protection While Trucking In 2018

Best Dashboard Cameras For Truckers: 23 Year Road Pro Expert Opinion

For 23 years of my life, I drove a truck. I drove both OTR and Line Haul. I have almost 3,000,000 miles on my backside. I might just have a little bit of experience when it comes to the needs of truck drivers. That is why I sent my team out to research which dash cams would be the best for truck drivers.

After they came back with the results, I then took my knowledge of what is needed when you are driving a truck and chose the best dash cams for truck drivers.

I don’t know about you, but I am sick and tired of people always blaming the driver. It is time we had a way to prove it wasn’t our fault some idiot was driving like a maniac.

In this article, you will find a quick comparison chart of dash cams for truckers, and then below you will find a mini-review of each camera.

Our Top Dash Cam Picks For Truck Drivers

Last update was on: July 20, 2018 12:59 am

back to menu ↑

How We Chose These Dash Cameras

Why Should You Trust Us To Help You Choose A Dashboard Cam For Your Truck?

We spent over 40 hours researching and writing this list of the cameras for professional drivers so you wouldn’t have to spend your time doing the research. We consulted with the top experts in the industry and coupled that with our own personal experience to bring you this list.  We do not accept free products or incentives when we review products in order to keep our opinions unbiased and helpful to our readers.

In making this list of the dashboard cameras for truckers we kept 3 things in mind: Features, price, and customer satisfaction.

Features

picture of a truck driver driving a truckOne of the most important things about purchasing a new dash cam is the features that the camera comes with. Does it have different settings like night vision? Is it easy to operate while driving? How well is it constructed? What type of warranty does the dash cam have? How does it mount?
All of these things are important in choosing your new dash cam for your truck, or deciding which one will be a good gift for a friend or loved one. So that is what we looked for. We only picked cameras that had one or more of these options.
We spent over 40 hours researching and writing this list of the cameras so you wouldn’t have to spend your time doing the research. Now you can start spending more time making money, and less time researching.

Price

We kept the price range around $200.00 or less so that any driver can afford a dash cam to protect himself. That being said, the pricier cameras usually are the better quality ones that have better resolution and other features. It is just how things work in this world. You get what you pay for.
However, if you don’t need the absolute best camera right off the bat, we have an option for you at the end of the article that is quite inexpensive.
Most drivers buy a dash cam to protect themselves in case of an accident.  We made sure that we only listed the cameras that will accomplish that goal with the least amount of fuss involved.

Customer Satisfaction

Every dashboard camera that we have listed are rated by customers at 80% or higher depending on the rating system used on different websites. They are either 4 stars or higher at the time of the review.
We also read all the individual customer reviews to see how well the manufacturer responded to customer issues and how well people recommended these cameras. We only took into account customers with a verified purchase. They are real buyers reviewing the product.

back to menu ↑

The Best Dash Cams For Truck Drivers

Picking the best dash cams for my fellow truckers was tough. It really depends upon your needs. Do you own your truck or are you a company driver? Do you drive team or solo? Do you drive OTR or Line Haul or maybe even a city driver? Do you share your truck with somebody else so you have to pack your equipment in and out all the time?  These are the type of questions that I and you need to think about when buying a dash cam for your truck. Not all of the dash cams will fit your need.

Here is my list of the best dash cams for truckers that I thought you should consider.

back to menu ↑

Best Dashboard Cameras For Truckers

When making up the list of the best cam/vehicle recorders for professional truck drivers we considered these factors. We looked at how easy they were to install and uninstall since many company drivers slip seat their trucks.

We looked at the camera’s ability to record front and right mirror view, and we looked at recording quality and price as well since driving is not a path to getting rich.

Here are our recommendations to all our driver friends out there.

8.9/10 Read review
89 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: WheelWitness Dash Cam w/ WiFi - HD PRO PLUS Premium Car Dash Camera - WiFi & GPS, Sony Exmor Sensor, Dashboard Camera, Car DVR, Dual USB Charger, G Sensor, Night Vision + FREE 16GB SD - $149.99
Price history
×
Price history for WheelWitness Dash Cam w/ WiFi - HD PRO PLUS Premium Car Dash Camera - WiFi & GPS, Sony Exmor Sensor, Dashboard Camera, Car DVR, Dual USB Charger, G Sensor, Night Vision + FREE 16GB SD
Latest updates:
  • $149.99 - July 17, 2018
  • $159.99 - June 6, 2018
  • $149.99 - June 6, 2018
  • $159.99 - June 2, 2018
  • $149.99 - June 1, 2018
  • $159.99 - April 13, 2018
Since: April 13, 2018
  • Highest Price: $159.99 - April 13, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $149.99 - June 1, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: July 20, 2018 6:00 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

WheelWitness Dash Cam

The installation of the WheelWitness HD Pro is much easier when you compare it with the rest of the dash cams present in the market.  It also gives you better footage through its HD camera with Sony Exmor Sensor.

Usually ships in 3-4 business days
Last update was in: July 20, 2018 12:59 am

First Runner Up For Trucking Dash Cam In 2018

9.5/10 Read review
95 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Garmin Dash Cam 35 HD Driving Recorder with GPS & Driver Warnings - $93.99
Price history
×
Price history for Garmin Dash Cam 35 HD Driving Recorder with GPS & Driver Warnings
Latest updates:
  • $93.99 - May 11, 2018
  • $149.00 - April 27, 2018
Since: April 27, 2018
  • Highest Price: $149.00 - April 27, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $93.99 - May 11, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: July 20, 2018 7:58 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Garmin Dash Cam 35

Garmin Dash Cam 35 is an extraordinary product.  Its plethora of features makes it an unmatchable product in the current market.

Usually ships in 24 hours
Last update was in: July 20, 2018 12:59 am

Honorable Mention For Best Dash Camera For Truckers In 2018

8.5/10 Read review
85 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Z-EDGE Z3 3" LCD 1296P Dash Cam, Car DVR Vehicle Camera Video Recorder Night Vision w/ Parking Monitor 32GB SD Card Included - $95.99
Price history
×
Price history for Z-EDGE Z3 3" LCD 1296P Dash Cam, Car DVR Vehicle Camera Video Recorder Night Vision w/ Parking Monitor 32GB SD Card Included
Latest updates:
  • $95.99 - June 29, 2018
  • $94.99 - June 22, 2018
  • $99.99 - April 25, 2018
Since: April 25, 2018
  • Highest Price: $99.99 - April 25, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $94.99 - June 22, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: July 20, 2018 12:59 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Z-EDGE Z3 Upgraded Version Dash Cam

If you are looking for a dash cam that provides you high-resolution footage and takes no space on the dashboard of your car, then Z Edge Z3 Plus Dashcam, Super HD is the best bet for you.

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was in: July 20, 2018 12:59 am

Inexpensive Dash Cams For Truckers

There were a lot of good choices in the wireless dash cam category. We know that road expenses are high so we wanted to give you a couple of quality options that inexpensive enough so that you have some money left over for mama.

8.3/10 Read review
83 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Refurbished Cobra Electronics CDR 840 Drive HD Dash Cam with GPS 1080P HD Video w/G-Sensor - $36.95
Last Amazon price update was: July 20, 2018 1:59 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Cobra CDR 840 Drive HD Dash Cam

You will enjoy HD visuals, so intense they will show you all the number plates present on the road.

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was in: July 20, 2018 12:59 am
9.3/10 Read review
93 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: APEMAN Dash Cam FHD 1440p & 1080p Dual Dash Camera with IR Sensor, 6G Lens, G... - $119.99
Last Amazon price update was: July 20, 2018 12:59 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

APEMAN Dash Cam

APEMAN has done a marvelous job in making this dash cam best in class.

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was in: July 20, 2018 12:59 am

$119.99 $129.99

Gray Duke is the staff writer on 3 successful websites and is now taking his skill as a writer and using it to help non-profit organizations and leaders around the world.

We would be happy to hear your thoughts on this item.

      Leave a reply