Get Better Fishing Results With The Best Fish Finders On The Market

I have been fishing all of my life. My mom says that I was catching fish before I was born. I am not a professional, but I love to fish. Never in my wildest dreams did I imagine someday I would be writing about fish finders.

Technology has changed the way we fish. From the top fishing rods and reels, trolling motors, types of line, and trusting the locals to find the best fishing spot, the sport has come a long way. Nothing makes this more evident than today’s top-rated fish finders.

There are many different fish finders with different features. This can sometimes make it a daunting task to choose a fish finders. So I decided to do some research and try to help you choose the best one for the money for your fishing needs.

Defining The Best Fish Finder

Everybody will have a different definition of a good fish finders. Some will equate it to best bang for your buck. Others will equate it to quality and range. Yet others will simply mean the best for the type of fishing they do like deep sea fishing, lake fishing, river fishing, or ice fishing.

So I am not going to try to convince you which one is the best quality or best bang for your buck. Instead, I am going to show you fish finders in different price ranges and let you decide which one is the best fish finder for you. I do have three recommendations, but you are the one that has to determine if the fish finder is the right type for your fishing adventures.

If you need help deciding which fish finder would be best for you, I suggest you read our Fish Finder Buyers Guide.

In this article, you will find a quick comparison chart of fish finders, and then below you will find product listings for each weed eater pulled from Amazon’s product database for you to compare.

However, before we go onto the list, here is a helpful video on how to buy a fish finder by West Marine.

Scroll down to see our other top fish finder picks

back to menu ↑

How We Determine What Is A Top Fish Finder

Why You Should Trust Us When Searching For The Best Fish Finder

We spent over 40 hours researching and writing this list of the top fish finders so you wouldn’t have to spend your time doing the research. We consulted with the top experts in the industry and coupled that with our own experience to bring you this list.  We do not accept free products or incentives when we review products to keep our opinions unbiased and helpful to our readers.

In making this list of the top fish finders, we kept three things in mind: Quality, affordability, and customer satisfaction.

Fish Finder Quality

As an avid fisherman myself the last thing I want to do is cause you to have a bad fishing trip because of a review we gave. So when I decided to make this list of fish finders, quality was the number 1 consideration. I desire that you catch more fish.

That is why you do not see off-brand knock-offs on this list. You only see the top fish finder brands in the fishing industry.

Fish Finder Affordability

Although our list of fish finders has units with price ranges from $100.00 to $1,000.00, these are not the highest priced fish finders in any way shape or form. Some of the most expensive fish finders can run in the multiple thousands of dollars.

Customer Satisfaction With The Fish Finder

We spent the time reading all the customer reviews left on these top-rated fish finders to ensure that any fish locator and depth finder we recommend is well liked by real anglers. Every fish sonar we recommend was rated with 4 stars or better at the time of this writing.

back to menu ↑

Our Recommendations Of The Best Fish Finders

Editors Choice Award – 2018

Here are three top fish finders that we feel are the best of the best overall.

Humminbird Helix 10

Positives
  • Auto Charts
  • Precision GPS
  • Large 10″ Screen
  • Switch Fire Sonar

Negatives
  • Requires Installation
  • Price

  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Humminbird 410110-1 Helix 10 Chirp Di GPS G2N Fishing Charts & Maps

Looking to add some power to your next fishing adventure? The HELIX 10 CHIRP DI GPS G2N Fishfinder transforms unknown waters into detailed maps that you can keep or share. The internal GPS allows you to mark up to 2,500 fish-holding features. And...

Usually ships in 1-2 business days
Last update was on: December 11, 2018 3:13 pm

$1,103.99

Best Fish Finder For Small Boat

Simrad Go7 XSE

Positives
  • Multi-Touch Display
  • Chartplotter
  • 7″ Screen
  • CHIRP and Structure Scan

Negatives
  • Price
  • Requires Installation

  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Simrad GO7 XSE Chartplotter/Fishfinder

Amp up your chartplotting, fish finding and your wireless connectivity with Simrad's GO7 XSR TotalScan Sonar/GPS Combo. Not only is the 7" widescreen display enhanced with touch-screen controls that remind you of your cellphone's interface, its bright LED is easy to see in bright-light conditions The Simrad G07 XSE is perfect for small sport boats, day boats, and fishing boats. It's brightly lit split screen touch screen displays its charts, internal GPS tracking, and fish finding screens in any type of light. Couple that with its Broadband Sounder and StructureScan HD DownScan and SideScan imaging sonars and you will find fish like a pro even in the deep waters.

Usually ships in 1-2 business days
Last update was on: December 11, 2018 3:13 pm

Top Fish Finder 2018

Lowrance Hook 7x

Positives
  • Large 7″ Screen
  • Multiple Sonars
  • One Thumb Operation
  • Multi-Window Display

Negatives
  • Price
  • Requires Installation

  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Lowrance Hook-7X Sonar Mid/High/Downscan Fishfinder

The world's easiest fishfinder, HOOK2 7x TripleShot offers simple menus, easy access to key functions and Autotuning sonar. Powered by proven Lowrance performance, HOOK2 7x features TripleShot 3-in-1 sonar with wide-angle, High CHIRP coverage, SideScan and DownScan Imaging, plus a simple and accurate GPS plotter. The Lowrance HOOK-7 is a fish finder that offers the right features at the right value without compromising the quality fisherman have come to expect from a company like Lowrance. Combining Chirp technology with advanced dual beam signal processing gives anglers a quality fish finder that is easy to use. Its 7 inch display size makes it easy to see.

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was on: December 11, 2018 3:13 pm

$436.65 $448.88

Best Fish Finder GPS Combos Under $500

There are some great fish finder GPS combos for the avid fishing enthusiast under $500.00. Here are some great ones ranging from $200.00 to $500.00

Garmin Striker 7SV

Positives
  • Wide CHIRP Transducer
  • High Sensitivity GPS
  • On-Screen Speedometer
  • Wi-Fi Compatibility

Negatives
  • Needs Installation
  • User Interface

  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Garmin 010-01809-00 Striker 7SV

Featuring a crystal-clear transducer with both CHIRP ClearVü™ and CHIRP SideVü™ sonar capabilities, Garmin's Striker Plus 7SV Sonar/GPS Combo delivers an incredible view of the terrain, structure and activity below and to the side of your boat, allowing you to put your lure in front of more fish You will find fish better than ever with the Garmin's fish finder, the Striker 7SV. Log your hot spots and plot your course with Striker's high sensitivity GPS mapping. Adjust the depth you are probing with their smooth scaling depth finder software technology. See the fish clearly with the Garmin Echomap Chirp dual beam sonar.

Usually ships in 1-2 business days
Last update was on: December 11, 2018 3:13 pm

Lowrance Hook 5

Positives
  • Records Sonar History
  • GPS
  • 5″ Screen
  • Advanced Signal Processing

Negatives
  • Needs Installation
  • User Interface

  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Lowrance HOOK2 5X - 5-inch Fish Finder with SplitShot Transducer and GPS...

Lowrance HOOK2-5x Fishfinder/GPS with SplitShot Transducer 5" Color LCD with 200 Watt, 200 KHz Sonar, 500 Watt DownScan, and Plotscreen (No Mapping) Easy to use, easy-to install and easy to afford -- HOOK2 displays are designed to allow anglers...

Usually ships in 1-2 business days
Last update was on: December 11, 2018 3:13 pm

Humminbird Helix 5

Positives
  • User Interface
  • 5″ Screen
  • GPS
  • Live Mapping

Negatives
  • Requires Installation
  • Smaller Screen Size

  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Humminbird 410210-1 HELIX 5 CHIRP GPS G2

Improved user-friendly interface and added features like CHIRP sonar make the Humminbird Helix 5 Sonar G2 Sonar/GPS an efficient fish-finding tool. When Hummingbird first released the Helix 5 it sent shockwaves through the fish finder industry because it included side and down imaging in a fish finder that was under $500.00. Now they are continuing to rock the boat by including it in Humminbird's  fish finder, the Helix 5 G2 for under $300.00.

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was on: December 11, 2018 3:13 pm

$262.00 $291.19

Garmin Striker 5CV

Positives
  • 5″ Display
  • Mark Hot Spots
  • Includes Transducer
  • GPS

Negatives
  • Requires Installation
  • Screen Size Might Be Too Small

  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Garmin Striker 5cv with Transducer, 5" GPS Fishfinder with Chirp Traditional and...

The STRIKER Plus 5cv fishfinder with a bright 5” display and built-in GPS features Garmin CHIRP traditional sonar, Garmin CHIRP ClearVü scanning sonar and Quickdraw Contours map drawing software, which stores up to 2 million acres of content with...

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was on: December 11, 2018 3:13 pm

Fish Finders Under $300

Maybe you don’t hit the water every weekend but you would like to have the advantage of having a fish finder when you do. These inexpensive fish finders might just be the best fishfinders for you. You still get some of the advantages of the pricier models but don’t pay for all the bells and whistles.

Raymarine Dragonfly 4DV

Positives
  • CHIRP Sonar
  • 600′ Depth Range
  • 24 Bit Color
  • 4″ Screen

Negatives
  • Screen Size
  • No GPS Unless Upgraded

  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Raymarine Dragonfly Pro CHIRP Fish Finder with built in GPS and WiFi...

Dragonfly Pro combines GPS navigation with Raymarine's advanced dual-channel CHIRP sonar. Dragonfly Pro will change your underwater view and maximize your time fishing with Raymarine's wide spectrum CHIRP technology. Easily identify fish and...

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was on: December 11, 2018 3:13 pm

$242.12 $254.47

Lowrance Hook-3x

Positives
  • 3″ Backlit Screen
  • Dual Frequency Sonar
  • Quick Disconnect
  • Waterproof

Negatives
  • Screen Resolution
  • No GPS

  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Lowrance 000-12638-001 Hook-3X All Seas. Pack Sonar 83/200 XDucer Fishfinder

Led-backlit 3 inch color display with detailed 320 x 240 resolution that's easy to see in full sunlight & from wide viewing angles; Broadband sounder detail easily identifies fish targets, bottom contour, structure detail, bottom hardness,...

Usually ships in 1-2 business days
Last update was on: December 11, 2018 3:13 pm

Best Portable Bobber Style Fish Finder

Maybe you are a river fishing enthusiast or maybe you like to fish using a kayak or inflatable rubber boat. This portable bobber style fish finder will help you find the big ones that are lurking beneath the surface.

Deeper Smart Sonar Pro+

Positives
  • Portable
  • 330′ Range
  • Smartphone And Tablet Ready
  • GPS Enabled

Negatives
  • Limited Ability
  • Price

  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Deeper Smart Sonar PRO Series - Wi-Fi Connected Wireless, Castable, Portable Smart...

Deeper Smart Sonar PRO+Fish Finder is especially designed for amateur and professional fisherman alike, to find out location of fish, depth, water temperature, bottom contour of water and many more. It can work on smartphones and tablets. Deeper Smart Sonar has truly taken the portable fish finder market by storm with their bobber style fish finder Pro+. This unique fish finder is able to be used like a bobber in shallower water and cast out and retrieved with a fishing rod to help you find where the fish are hiding using standard sonar sound waves. It connects to your mobile phone and has an IOS and Android app. It is perfect for fishing from the bank or kayak fishing.

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was on: December 11, 2018 3:13 pm

$199.00 $199.95

back to menu ↑

How To Use A Top Fish Finder

When you purchase your fish finder you will be learning how to read sonar based data. This is different than what you would see if you panned an underwater camera down under your boat. The data is time based, not distance based.

So when you use your new fish finder, you will need to remember that what you are seeing is not the spacial movement but time scans.

You also will find that you get better images and data if you keep moving rather than stay stationary. The reason for this is that with the movement you give your fish finder the ability to get different angles on any fish or object below you.

Tips For Reading The Fish Finder Depth View Screen

Not all fish finders have icons that tell you what a fish is and what is a tree stump. Not always is it easy to say right off the bat. Here are a few tips to help you read your view screen.

  • A thick line at the bottom shows a soft bottom where a thin line indicates a hard or rocky bottom.
  • The right to left movement of your screen is not panning right to the left. It is the image based on time.
  • Adjust your sensitivity controls so that objects are clear and distinct from the background.
  • Mount your transducer where it gets a steady flow of water across it rather than near turbulence. Less turbulence will significantly improve the image you see on your view screen.

Here is a helpful video on how to read your new fish finder with sonar technology.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CkGg5rnK4Cc

back to menu ↑

Final Thoughts on Fish Finder Technology

I still remember the days when I had to know how to read the water to find fish. However, I also love the new technology like chirp technology that makes it so much easier to find the fish and where the fish are biting.

Let me know if you found that this fish finders list has helped you chose the top fish finder for you. Let me know if there is anything I can add that will help you make your decision on what is the GPS fish finder for the money for you. I will try to update the content as time and technology changes. Feel free to share some fishing tips as well.

For further information you might want to read our fish finder reviews, our buyers guide to learn how to buy the best fish finders on the market. Alternatively, our fish finders comparisons.

Are YOU Tired Of The Big One ALWAYS Getting Away? COMPARE The Best Fish Finders On The Market And NEVER Get Skunked Again! #fishing #fishfinders #fishinggear #TabersBestReviews

Duke Taber is the owner of 3 successful websites and is now taking his skill as a writer and using it to help non-profit organizations and leaders around the world.

We would be happy to hear your thoughts on this item.

      Leave a reply

      Pin
      Share
      Tweet