Get Better Fishing Results With The Best Fish Finders On The Market

I have been fishing all of my life. My mom says that I was catching fish before I was born. I am not a professional, but I love to fish. Never in my wildest dreams did I imagine someday I would be writing about fish finders.

Technology has changed the way we fish. From the top fishing rods and reels, trolling motors, types of line, and trusting the locals to find the best fishing spot, the sport has come a long way. Nothing makes this more evident than today’s top-rated fish finders.

There are many different fish finders with different features. This can sometimes make it a daunting task to choose a fish finders. So I decided to do some research and try to help you choose the best one for the money for your fishing needs.

Defining The Best Fish Finder

Everybody will have a different definition of a good fish finders. Some will equate it to best bang for your buck. Others will equate it to quality and range. Yet others will simply mean the best for the type of fishing they do like deep sea fishing, lake fishing, river fishing, or ice fishing.

So I am not going to try to convince you which one is the best quality or best bang for your buck. Instead, I am going to show you fish finders in different price ranges and let you decide which one is the best fish finder for you. I do have three recommendations, but you are the one that has to determine if the fish finder is the right type for your fishing adventures.

If you need help deciding which fish finder would be best for you, I suggest you read our Fish Finder Buyers Guide.

In this article, you will find a quick comparison chart of fish finders, and then below you will find product listings for each weed eater pulled from Amazon’s product database for you to compare.

However, before we go onto the list, here is a helpful video on how to buy a fish finder by West Marine.

back to menu ↑

Top Picks For Fish Finders

Last update was on: August 14, 2018 5:32 am

back to menu ↑

How We Determine What Is A Top Fish Finder

back to menu ↑

Why You Should Trust Us When Searching For The Best Fish Finder

We spent over 40 hours researching and writing this list of the top fish finders so you wouldn’t have to spend your time doing the research. We consulted with the top experts in the industry and coupled that with our own experience to bring you this list.  We do not accept free products or incentives when we review products to keep our opinions unbiased and helpful to our readers.

In making this list of the top fish finders, we kept three things in mind: Quality, affordability, and customer satisfaction.

back to menu ↑

Fish Finder Quality

As an avid fisherman myself the last thing I want to do is cause you to have a bad fishing trip because of a review we gave. So when I decided to make this list of fish finders, quality was the number 1 consideration. I desire that you catch more fish.

That is why you do not see off-brand knock-offs on this list. You only see the top fish finder brands in the fishing industry.

back to menu ↑

Fish Finder Affordability

Although our list of fish finders has units with price ranges from $100.00 to $1,000.00, these are not the highest priced fish finders in any way shape or form. Some of the most expensive fish finders can run in the multiple thousands of dollars.

back to menu ↑

Customer Satisfaction With The Fish Finder

We spent the time reading all the customer reviews left on these top-rated fish finders to ensure that any fish locator and depth finder we recommend is well liked by real anglers. Every fish sonar we recommend was rated with 4 stars or better at the time of this writing.

back to menu ↑

Our Recommendations Of The Best Fish Finders

back to menu ↑

Editors Choice Award – 2018

Here are three top fish finders that we feel are the best of the best overall.

8.5/10 Read review
85 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Humminbird 409970-1 Helix 10 GPS Fishing DI/DualBeam PLUS 350' Imaging Sonar MD - $1,098.52
Last Amazon price update was: August 13, 2018 11:35 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Humminbird 409970-1 HELIX 10 DI GPS Fishfinder

Humminbird's Helix 10 CHIRP MEGA DI Sonar/GPS G2N Combo delivers crisp images, excellent coverage and an internal GPS so you can spend less time guessing and more time fishing productive spots.
The Humminbird HELIX 10 DI GPS Fish finder is a top notch unit boasting of some great features.

The 10″ screen size makes it much easier to view its split screen. It has easy to use controls that enable you to spend more time fishing and less time setting up or changing functions.

Usually ships in 1-2 business days
Last update was in: August 14, 2018 5:32 am

$1,197.27

8.8/10 Read review
88 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Simrad GO7 XSE Chartplotter/Fishfinder BRAND NEW, WITH Totalscan transducer  - $650.00
Last Amazon price update was: August 13, 2018 11:35 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Simrad GO7 XSE Chartplotter/Fishfinder

Amp up your chartplotting, fish finding and your wireless connectivity with Simrad's GO7 XSR TotalScan Sonar/GPS Combo. Not only is the 7" widescreen display enhanced with touch-screen controls that remind you of your cellphone's interface, its bright LED is easy to see in bright-light conditions The Simrad G07 XSE is perfect for small sport boats, day boats, and fishing boats. It's brightly lit split screen touch screen displays its charts, internal GPS tracking, and fish finding screens in any type of light. Couple that with its Broadband Sounder and StructureScan HD DownScan and SideScan imaging sonars and you will find fish like a pro even in the deep waters.

Usually ships in 1-2 business days
Last update was in: August 14, 2018 5:32 am
8.3/10 Read review
83 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Lowrance HOOK2-7x with SplitShot Transducer and GPS Plotter 000-14020-001 - $329.00
Price history
×
Price history for Lowrance HOOK2-7x with SplitShot Transducer and GPS Plotter 000-14020-001
Latest updates:
  • $329.00 - August 6, 2018
  • $299.99 - July 30, 2018
  • $329.00 - July 23, 2018
  • $299.99 - July 8, 2018
  • $329.00 - June 23, 2018
  • $294.49 - June 16, 2018
  • $299.99 - June 1, 2018
Since: June 1, 2018
  • Highest Price: $329.00 - June 23, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $294.49 - June 16, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: August 14, 2018 1:32 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Lowrance Hook-7X Sonar Mid/High/Downscan Fishfinder

The world's easiest fishfinder, HOOK2 7x TripleShot offers simple menus, easy access to key functions and Autotuning sonar. Powered by proven Lowrance performance, HOOK2 7x features TripleShot 3-in-1 sonar with wide-angle, High CHIRP coverage, SideScan and DownScan Imaging, plus a simple and accurate GPS plotter. The Lowrance HOOK-7 is a fish finder that offers the right features at the right value without compromising the quality fisherman have come to expect from a company like Lowrance. Combining Chirp technology with advanced dual beam signal processing gives anglers a quality fish finder that is easy to use. Its 7 inch display size makes it easy to see.

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was in: August 14, 2018 5:32 am

back to menu ↑

Best Fish Finder GPS Combos Under $500

There are some great fish finder GPS combos for the avid fishing enthusiast under $500.00. Here are some great ones ranging from $200.00 to $500.00

7.8/10 Read review
78 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Garmin 010-01809-00 Striker 7SV with transducer - $469.99
Price history
×
Price history for Garmin 010-01809-00 Striker 7SV with transducer
Latest updates:
  • $469.99 - July 21, 2018
  • $461.43 - July 21, 2018
  • $469.99 - July 21, 2018
  • $461.43 - July 21, 2018
  • $469.99 - July 20, 2018
  • $529.99 - July 20, 2018
  • $461.43 - July 20, 2018
  • $529.99 - July 19, 2018
Since: April 16, 2018
  • Highest Price: $529.99 - May 5, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $451.78 - July 13, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: August 14, 2018 1:32 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Garmin 010-01809-00 Striker 7SV

Featuring a crystal-clear transducer with both CHIRP ClearVü™ and CHIRP SideVü™ sonar capabilities, Garmin's Striker Plus 7SV Sonar/GPS Combo delivers an incredible view of the terrain, structure and activity below and to the side of your boat, allowing you to put your lure in front of more fish You will find fish better than ever with the Garmin's fish finder, the Striker 7SV. Log your hot spots and plot your course with Striker's high sensitivity GPS mapping. Adjust the depth you are probing with their smooth scaling depth finder software technology. See the fish clearly with the Garmin Echomap Chirp dual beam sonar.

Usually ships in 1-2 business days
Last update was in: August 14, 2018 5:32 am

$469.99 $499.99

7.8/10 Read review
78 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Lowrance HOOK²-5x 5" GPS SplitShot Fishfinder w/Track Plotter Transom - $234.75
Last Amazon price update was: August 14, 2018 7:31 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Lowrance 000-12656-002 Navico Hook 5

Featuring a brilliant 5-inch color display, the HOOK-5x is powered by high performance sonar with enhanced sonar sensitivity, excellent target separation and superior noise rejection, making it easier to see baitfish and gamefish targets. The HOOK-5x combines the benefits of CHIRP Sonar and DownScan Imagin technology to give you a clear and complete view of all the fish and structures below your boat. Its high performance dual beam scan sonar gives you excellent target separation enabling you to see clearly the baitfish and gamefish targets you are seeking with its fantastic split screen display.

Usually ships in 1-2 business days
Last update was in: August 14, 2018 5:32 am
8.8/10 Read review
88 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Humminbird HELIX5 Chirp GPS 5" Wvga Sonar GPS G2 - $259.99
Last Amazon price update was: August 14, 2018 5:32 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Humminbird 410210-1 HELIX 5 CHIRP GPS G2

Improved user-friendly interface and added features like CHIRP sonar make the Humminbird Helix 5 Sonar G2 Sonar/GPS an efficient fish-finding tool. When Hummingbird first released the Helix 5 it sent shockwaves through the fish finder industry because it included side and down imaging in a fish finder that was under $500.00. Now they are continuing to rock the boat by including it in Humminbird's  fish finder, the Helix 5 G2 for under $300.00.

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was in: August 14, 2018 5:32 am

$288.98 $299.99

7.5/10 Read review
75 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Garmin STRIKER 5cv Fishfinder w/ ClearVu Sonar Transducer 010-01807-00 BRAND NEW - $254.99
Price history
×
Price history for Garmin STRIKER 5cv Fishfinder w/ ClearVu Sonar Transducer 010-01807-00 BRAND NEW
Latest updates:
  • $254.99 - August 9, 2018
  • $269.99 - May 31, 2018
  • $240.99 - May 17, 2018
  • $244.99 - May 10, 2018
  • $258.99 - April 26, 2018
  • $259.99 - April 19, 2018
Since: April 19, 2018
  • Highest Price: $269.99 - May 31, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $240.99 - May 17, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: August 14, 2018 5:32 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Garmin 010-01807-00 Garmin STRIKER 5cv Fish Finder

Finding fish is easier than ever with STRIKER 5cv fishfinder. Mark and return to your hot spots, boat ramps and docks. You also can share your favorite waypoints and routes with other STRIKER and echoMAP™ combos. Not to be outdone by Hummingbird, Garmin has put out a great entry level fish finder to compete. The Striker 5cv (clear view) is a strong competitor. With 800 pixels in a 5" screen size, you will be able to distinguish where the fish are.

Usually ships in 1-2 business days
Last update was in: August 14, 2018 5:32 am

back to menu ↑

Fish Finders Under $200

Maybe you don’t hit the water every weekend but you would like to have the advantage of having a fish finder when you do. These inexpensive fish finders might just be the best fishfinders for you. You still get some of the advantages of the pricier models but don’t pay for all the bells and whistles.

70 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: RAYMARINE DRAGONFLY 4DV CHIRP DOWNVISION SONAR ONLY T/M - $92.71
Price history
×
Price history for RAYMARINE DRAGONFLY 4DV CHIRP DOWNVISION SONAR ONLY T/M
Latest updates:
  • $92.71 - July 27, 2018
  • $100.75 - June 15, 2018
  • $197.99 - June 8, 2018
  • $182.99 - May 31, 2018
  • $100.77 - May 17, 2018
  • $109.99 - May 3, 2018
  • $100.77 - April 26, 2018
  • $109.99 - April 19, 2018
Since: April 19, 2018
  • Highest Price: $197.99 - June 8, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $92.71 - July 27, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: August 14, 2018 9:32 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Raymarine Dragonfly-4DV CHIRP DownVision Sonar Fish Finder

Change your underwater view and catch more fish with the Dragonfly wide-spectrum CHIRP DownVision™ technology. Easily identify fish and underwater objects with photo-like sonar images. Raymarine offers quite a few fish finders with the most affordable being the Dragonfly 4DV. This is a basic fish finder with few bells and whistles using just standard sonar and lcd display, but if you are just a hobbyist fisherman then this might be just the fish finder you are looking for with its extremely affordable price point.

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was in: August 14, 2018 5:32 am
5.3/10 Read review
53 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: NEW! Lowrance 000-12635-001 Hook-3x Fishfinder, Transducer 83/200khz, 256 Color! - $75.00
Last Amazon price update was: August 14, 2018 5:32 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Lowrance 000-12636-001 Hook-3X DSI Sonar Fish Finder

The Lowrance® HOOK-3x is a fishfinder that offers proven features at a great value without compromising the quality anglers have come to expect from Lowrance.Featuring a LED backlit 3-inch color display, the HOOK-3x is powered by high-performance Broadband sonar with Advanced Signal Processing (ASP), excellent target separation and superior noise rejection, making it easier to see baitfish and gamefish targets. It features a built-in water temperature sensor and supports 83 and 200kHz frequencies, allowing you to select the frequency that works best with current water conditions. Lowrance fish finders like the Hook 3X sonar fish finder is the perfect fish finder for the hobbyist or casual angler. It is the least expensive traditional fish finder made by a quality manufacturer.If you are looking for a cheap fish finder this may be the one for you!

Usually ships in 1-2 business days & Free shipping
Last update was in: August 14, 2018 5:32 am

back to menu ↑

Best Portable Bobber Style Fish Finder

Maybe you are a river fishing enthusiast or maybe you like to fish using a kayak or inflatable rubber boat. This portable bobber style fish finder will help you find the big ones that are lurking beneath the surface.

6.5/10 Read review
65 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Deeper Smart Sonar PRO+ - GPS Portable Wireless Wi-Fi Fish Finder for Shore and Ice Fishing - $202.34
Price history
×
Price history for Deeper Smart Sonar PRO+ - GPS Portable Wireless Wi-Fi Fish Finder for Shore and Ice Fishing
Latest updates:
  • $202.34 - August 13, 2018
  • $203.66 - August 12, 2018
  • $205.74 - August 11, 2018
  • $211.33 - August 10, 2018
  • $204.87 - August 9, 2018
  • $206.47 - August 8, 2018
  • $207.57 - August 7, 2018
  • $209.53 - August 6, 2018
Since: April 19, 2018
  • Highest Price: $234.99 - April 27, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $190.00 - July 16, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: August 14, 2018 9:32 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Deeper Smart Sonar PRO Series - Wi-Fi Connected Wireless, Castable, Portable Smart...

Deeper Smart Sonar PRO+Fish Finder is especially designed for amateur and professional fisherman alike, to find out location of fish, depth, water temperature, bottom contour of water and many more. It can work on smartphones and tablets. Deeper Smart Sonar has truly taken the portable fish finder market by storm with their bobber style fish finder Pro+. This unique fish finder is able to be used like a bobber in shallower water and cast out and retrieved with a fishing rod to help you find where the fish are hiding using standard sonar sound waves. It connects to your mobile phone and has an IOS and Android app. It is perfect for fishing from the bank or kayak fishing.

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was in: August 14, 2018 5:32 am

back to menu ↑

How To Use A Top Fish Finder

When you purchase your fish finder you will be learning how to read sonar based data. This is different than what you would see if you panned an underwater camera down under your boat. The data is time based, not distance based.

So when you use your new fish finder, you will need to remember that what you are seeing is not the spacial movement but time scans.

You also will find that you get better images and data if you keep moving rather than stay stationary. The reason for this is that with the movement you give your fish finder the ability to get different angles on any fish or object below you.

back to menu ↑

Tips For Reading The Fish Finder Depth View Screen

Not all fish finders have icons that tell you what a fish is and what is a tree stump. Not always is it easy to say right off the bat. Here are a few tips to help you read your view screen.

  • A thick line at the bottom shows a soft bottom where a thin line indicates a hard or rocky bottom.
  • The right to left movement of your screen is not panning right to the left. It is the image based on time.
  • Adjust your sensitivity controls so that objects are clear and distinct from the background.
  • Mount your transducer where it gets a steady flow of water across it rather than near turbulence. Less turbulence will significantly improve the image you see on your view screen.

Here is a helpful video on how to read your new fish finder with sonar technology.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CkGg5rnK4Cc

back to menu ↑

Final Thoughts on Fish Finder Technology

I still remember the days when I had to know how to read the water to find fish. However, I also love the new technology like chirp technology that makes it so much easier to find the fish and where the fish are biting.

Let me know if you found that this fish finders list has helped you chose the top fish finder for you. Let me know if there is anything I can add that will help you make your decision on what is the GPS fish finder for the money for you. I will try to update the content as time and technology changes. Feel free to share some fishing tips as well.

For further information you might want to read our fish finder reviews, our buyers guide to learn how to buy the best fish finders on the market. Alternatively, our fish finders comparisons.

Duke Taber is the owner of 3 successful websites and is now taking his skill as a writer and using it to help non-profit organizations and leaders around the world.

We would be happy to hear your thoughts on this item.

      Leave a reply