Best Noise Canceling Headphones – Editors Choice 2018

FYI
Hey folks,We hope you love the products we recommend. Just so you know, Taber's Best Reviews may collect a small percentage of the sales you make after clicking through a link on this page. Oh and FYI, the prices were accurate and the products were in stock at the time we published this article.

Last Updated on

Sometimes the best sound is silence.

When you are on the hunt for the best noise-canceling headphones, it is important that you do your research. They can be expensive. Many are upwards of $300.00 or more. However, they are worth the price. The difference between that free set of earbuds you got with your smartphone or iPod and a quality pair of noise-canceling headphones is like night and day. It is indescribable.

That is why we at Taber’s Best Reviews set out on a journey to discover the top noise canceling headphones for you. We know your time is valuable and you would rather listen to your tunes or favorite podcast instead of spending hours on the internet.

We spent hours researching and testing each product on our list of noise-canceling headphones is the greatest that can be found on the internet. Our research included wireless noise-canceling headphones, wired noise-canceling headphones, and some lesser priced models as well for those that cannot justify an expensive pair.

We tested them using some of the heaviest metal found, the sweetest symphonies, and with podcasts featuring all different types of speaking styles. We also looked at the sizes and weights, battery life when applicable, and the comfort of wearing them for long periods of time.

In this article, you will find a quick comparison chart of the top-notch noise-canceling headphones, and then below you will see a mini review of each headphone.

Our Top 3 Headphone Picks For You In 2018

Scroll down to see more great noise canceling headphones

back to menu ↑

How We Chose These Headphones For You

Why You Should Trust Us

We spent over 40 hours researching and writing this list of noise canceling earphones so you wouldn’t have to spend your time doing the research. We consulted with the top experts in the industry and coupled that with our own experience to bring you this list.  We do not accept free products or incentives when we review products to keep our opinions unbiased and helpful to our readers.

In making this list of the best headsets, we kept three things in mind: Features, price, and customer satisfaction.

Features

One of the most important things about purchasing a new set of headphones is the features that the headset has.

  • How hot does it get?
  • Is it wired or wireless?
  • Is it a combo set?
  • Does it have voice, touch, or button controls?
  • Is it comfortable to wear over long periods of time?
  • How useful is the noise cancellation feature?

All of these things are important in choosing your new set of noise-canceling earphones, or deciding which one will be an excellent gift for a friend or loved one. So that is what we looked for in each headphone We only picked headsets that had one or more of these options.

Price

We kept the price range around $400.00 or less so that anyone can afford a top noise canceling set of headphones. When buying your first set of phones, you might not want to buy the most expensive ones. You might want to start off small and then upgrade later if you feel that you need to. That is why we have also included some sets that range under $200.00 for you.

Most people buy a set of noise-canceling earphones to block out the noise and distractions of the world around them and make their quality of life better. We made sure that we only listed the headsets that will accomplish that goal.

Customer Satisfaction

Every set of headphones that we have listed are rated by customers at 80% positive or higher depending on the rating system used on different websites.

We also read all the individual customer reviews to see how well the manufacturer responded to customer issues and how well people recommended these headphones. We only took into account customers with a verified purchase. They are real buyers reviewing the product.

back to menu ↑

Which Are The Best?

Picking a good set of noise canceling headphone depends upon your needs.

  • What type of noise are you trying to block out?
  • Do you want wired, wireless or both?
  • Do you need to be able to receive calls and talk as well?
  • How big do you want your headphones to be?
  • How long will you be wearing your headphones on average?
  • Do you need extended battery life?

These are the type of questions you need to think about when buying a set of headphones. Not all of the headphones will fit your need.

Here is our list of the best headphones that we think you should consider.

back to menu ↑

Best Overall

There are three different type of noise-canceling headphones. They are wireless headphones, wired headphones and those that offer both options. We separated them by wired or wireless. The ones that provide both are listed under the wireless category

Here are three wireless noise-canceling headphones that we feel are the best of the best overall.

9.3/10 Read review
93 %
Price history
×
Price history for Bose QuietComfort 35 (Series II) Wireless Headphones, Noise Cancelling - Black
Latest updates:
  • $199.00 - November 22, 2020
  • $299.00 - November 9, 2020
  • $199.00 - October 28, 2020
  • $299.00 - October 15, 2020
  • $217.99 - October 15, 2020
  • $299.00 - October 14, 2020
  • $199.00 - October 13, 2020
  • $299.00 - September 3, 2020
Since: June 8, 2020
  • Highest Price: $299.00 - June 8, 2020
  • Lowest Price: $139.00 - August 25, 2020
Last Amazon price update was: November 25, 2020 7:12 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Bose QuietComfort 35 (Series II) Wireless Headphones, Noise Cancelling Alexa Voice Control - Black

24 used from $198.49
Free shipping
Last update was on: November 25, 2020 9:16 am
in stock
$199.00 $299.00

First Runner Up In 2018

8.5/10 Read review
85 %
Price history
×
Price history for Sennheiser Momentum 2.0 Wireless with Active Noise Cancellation- Black
Latest updates:
  • $80.00 - November 24, 2020
  • $229.95 - November 23, 2020
  • $209.95 - November 14, 2020
  • $199.76 - November 1, 2020
  • $199.95 - October 25, 2020
  • $199.90 - October 23, 2020
  • $189.95 - October 11, 2020
  • $191.84 - October 11, 2020
Since: May 29, 2020
  • Highest Price: $229.95 - November 23, 2020
  • Lowest Price: $80.00 - July 15, 2020
Last Amazon price update was: November 25, 2020 8:15 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Sennheiser Momentum 2.0 Wireless with Active Noise Cancellation- Black

7 used from $80.00
Last update was on: November 25, 2020 9:16 am
in stock
$80.00 $199.95

Honorable Mention In 2018

8.3/10 Read review
83 %
Price history
×
Price history for Sony (MDR1000X/B)
Latest updates:
  • $119.95 - November 20, 2020
  • $153.14 - November 16, 2020
  • $139.99 - November 15, 2020
  • $379.99 - October 30, 2020
  • $139.22 - October 29, 2020
  • $138.17 - October 28, 2020
  • $129.95 - October 26, 2020
  • $379.99 - August 31, 2020
Since: May 29, 2020
  • Highest Price: $398.00 - July 19, 2020
  • Lowest Price: $84.98 - August 14, 2020
Last Amazon price update was: November 25, 2020 5:17 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Sony MDR-1000X Noise Cancelling, Bluetooth Headphone, Black (International Version with Full Warranty)

1 used from $172.00
Last update was on: November 25, 2020 9:16 am
in stock

Other Top Headphones

There were a lot of good choices in the wireless noise canceling headphone category. We did not want to fail to give credit where credit was due. So here are three more wireless noise-canceling headphones that we feel would be a good choice for the money as well. We didn’t find them quite the best of the best.

8.5/10 Read review
85 %
Price history
×
Price history for Sennheiser PXC 550
Latest updates:
  • $217.04 - November 21, 2020
  • $221.00 - November 20, 2020
  • $219.00 - November 19, 2020
  • $221.00 - November 16, 2020
  • $219.00 - November 15, 2020
  • $221.00 - November 14, 2020
  • $219.49 - November 10, 2020
  • $199.99 - November 9, 2020
Since: June 1, 2020
  • Highest Price: $239.99 - June 1, 2020
  • Lowest Price: $124.95 - August 22, 2020
Last Amazon price update was: November 25, 2020 8:16 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Sennheiser PXC 550 Wireless – NoiseGard Adaptive Noise Cancelling, Bluetooth Headphone with Touch Sensitive Control and 30-Hour Battery Life

3 used from $178.95
Free shipping
Last update was on: November 25, 2020 9:16 am
in stock
$217.04 $349.95
80 %
Last Amazon price update was: November 26, 2020 2:14 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Samsung Level On Wireless Noise Canceling Headphones, Blue-Retail packaging

Last update was on: November 25, 2020 9:16 am
in stock
8.4/10 Read review
84 %
Last Amazon price update was: November 25, 2020 12:12 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Plantronics BackBeat PRO 2 Special Edition - Wireless Noise Cancelling Headphones

13 used from $63.74
Free shipping
Last update was on: November 25, 2020 9:16 am
in stock

Best Wired Noise-Canceling Headphones

Maybe some of you don’t care about being connected to your CD player, iPod, computer or another device. Alternatively, perhaps you still feel that wireless transmission loses some of the audio quality that you are listening to. Either way or both, we thought that it was important to list some wired noise-canceling headphones that might do the trick for you. Here are a couple of options that you will love.

8.5/10 Read review
85 %
Last Amazon price update was: November 25, 2020 5:16 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Bose QuietComfort 25 Noise Cancelling Headphones (Apple) Black

5 used from $129.93
Free shipping
Last update was on: November 25, 2020 9:16 am
in stock
$199.00 $345.00
8.3/10 Read review
83 %
Last Amazon price update was: November 26, 2020 12:13 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Audio-Technica ATH-ANC7B QuietPoint Active Noise-Cancelling Closed-Back Headphones, Wired

4 used from $79.00
Free shipping
Last update was on: November 25, 2020 9:16 am
in stock

back to menu ↑

Models Under $200

When we set out to research these headphones for you we were a little surprised that noise-canceling technology was still so expensive. I think we were programmed by the idea that since you could get Walmart specials for under $50.00 that prices would have dropped for noise canceling headphones. However, we really should have known better. You do get what you pay for.

That being said, without compromising our commitment to providing you the best quality choices in headphones we did find some that are more affordable. Here are a couple of great sets of headphones that you might want to consider if you are on a tight budget.

8.8/10 Read review
88 %
Last Amazon price update was: November 26, 2020 2:14 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

JBL Everest Elite 300 NXTGen Noise-Canceling Bluetooth On-Ear Headphones (White)

1 used from $199.99
Last update was on: November 25, 2020 9:16 am
in stock
80 %
Price history
×
Price history for Sony XB950N1 Extra Bass Wireless Noise Canceling Headphones, Black
Latest updates:
  • $129.97 - November 18, 2020
  • $144.99 - November 15, 2020
  • $94.95 - November 6, 2020
  • $129.97 - November 4, 2020
  • $128.00 - November 3, 2020
  • $129.97 - October 31, 2020
  • $69.95 - October 22, 2020
  • $79.95 - October 17, 2020
Since: May 31, 2020
  • Highest Price: $248.00 - June 4, 2020
  • Lowest Price: $63.62 - June 18, 2020
Last Amazon price update was: November 25, 2020 7:12 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Sony XB950N1 Extra Bass Wireless Noise Canceling Headphones, Black

6 used from $129.97
Last update was on: November 25, 2020 9:16 am
in stock

back to menu ↑

Enjoying Your New Headphones

Whether you are traveling by plane, train, or automobile, you are going to love your new set of noise canceling headphones. There is nothing like being immersed in the sounds of music, or for that matter if you are trying to block out the world, the sounds of silence!

Once you buy your set of noise-canceling headphones, you will never return to those Walmart specials I talked about earlier. You will have arrived in audio heaven.

Duke Taber is the owner of 3 successful websites and is now taking his skill as a writer and using it to help non-profit organizations and leaders around the world.

We would be happy to hear your thoughts on this item.

      Leave a reply