Best Noise Canceling Headphones – Editors Choice 2018

Sometimes the best sound is silence.

When you are on the hunt for the best noise-canceling headphones, it is important that you do your research. They can be expensive. Many are upwards of $300.00 or more. However, they are worth the price. The difference between that free set of earbuds you got with your smartphone or iPod and a quality pair of noise-canceling headphones is like night and day. It is indescribable.

That is why we at Taber’s Best Reviews set out on a journey to discover the top noise canceling headphones for you. We know your time is valuable and you would rather listen to your tunes or favorite podcast instead of spending hours on the internet.

We spent hours researching and testing each product on our list of noise-canceling headphones is the greatest that can be found on the internet. Our research included wireless noise-canceling headphones, wired noise-canceling headphones, and some lesser priced models as well for those that cannot justify an expensive pair.

We tested them using some of the heaviest metal found, the sweetest symphonies, and with podcasts featuring all different types of speaking styles. We also looked at the sizes and weights, battery life when applicable, and the comfort of wearing them for long periods of time.

In this article, you will find a quick comparison chart of the top-notch noise-canceling headphones, and then below you will see a mini review of each headphone.

Our Top 3 Headphone Picks For You In 2018

Scroll down to see more great noise canceling headphones

back to menu ↑

How We Chose These Headphones For You

Why You Should Trust Us

We spent over 40 hours researching and writing this list of noise canceling earphones so you wouldn’t have to spend your time doing the research. We consulted with the top experts in the industry and coupled that with our own experience to bring you this list.  We do not accept free products or incentives when we review products to keep our opinions unbiased and helpful to our readers.

In making this list of the best headsets, we kept three things in mind: Features, price, and customer satisfaction.

Features

One of the most important things about purchasing a new set of headphones is the features that the headset has.

  • How hot does it get?
  • Is it wired or wireless?
  • Is it a combo set?
  • Does it have voice, touch, or button controls?
  • Is it comfortable to wear over long periods of time?
  • How useful is the noise cancellation feature?

All of these things are important in choosing your new set of noise-canceling earphones, or deciding which one will be an excellent gift for a friend or loved one. So that is what we looked for in each headphone We only picked headsets that had one or more of these options.

Price

We kept the price range around $400.00 or less so that anyone can afford a top noise canceling set of headphones. When buying your first set of phones, you might not want to buy the most expensive ones. You might want to start off small and then upgrade later if you feel that you need to. That is why we have also included some sets that range under $200.00 for you.

Most people buy a set of noise-canceling earphones to block out the noise and distractions of the world around them and make their quality of life better. We made sure that we only listed the headsets that will accomplish that goal.

Customer Satisfaction

Every set of headphones that we have listed are rated by customers at 80% positive or higher depending on the rating system used on different websites.

We also read all the individual customer reviews to see how well the manufacturer responded to customer issues and how well people recommended these headphones. We only took into account customers with a verified purchase. They are real buyers reviewing the product.

back to menu ↑

Which Are The Best?

Picking a good set of noise canceling headphone depends upon your needs.

  • What type of noise are you trying to block out?
  • Do you want wired, wireless or both?
  • Do you need to be able to receive calls and talk as well?
  • How big do you want your headphones to be?
  • How long will you be wearing your headphones on average?
  • Do you need extended battery life?

These are the type of questions you need to think about when buying a set of headphones. Not all of the headphones will fit your need.

Here is our list of the best headphones that we think you should consider.

back to menu ↑

Best Overall

There are three different type of noise-canceling headphones. They are wireless headphones, wired headphones and those that offer both options. We separated them by wired or wireless. The ones that provide both are listed under the wireless category

Here are three wireless noise-canceling headphones that we feel are the best of the best overall.

9.3/10 Read review
93 %
Last Amazon price update was: December 17, 2018 3:13 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Bose QuietComfort 35 (Series II) Wireless Headphones, Noise Cancelling Alexa Voice Control - Black

14 used from $265.00
Free shipping
Last update was on: December 17, 2018 4:11 pm
in stock
$299.00 $349.00

First Runner Up In 2018

8.5/10 Read review
85 %
Price history
×
Price history for Sennheiser Momentum 2.0 On-Ear for Apple Devices - Black
Latest updates:
  • $272.35 - December 15, 2018
  • $271.40 - December 8, 2018
  • $271.39 - December 1, 2018
  • $130.51 - November 24, 2018
  • $259.53 - November 8, 2018
  • $287.03 - November 1, 2018
  • $281.25 - October 14, 2018
Since: October 14, 2018
  • Highest Price: $287.03 - November 1, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $130.51 - November 24, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: December 18, 2018 3:11 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Sennheiser Momentum 2.0 Wireless with Active Noise Cancellation- Black

2 used from $315.00
Last update was on: December 17, 2018 4:11 pm
in stock
$349.00 $499.95

Honorable Mention In 2018

8.3/10 Read review
83 %
Price history
×
Price history for Sony (MDR1000X/B)
Latest updates:
  • $220.00 - December 17, 2018
  • $399.99 - November 29, 2018
  • $398.00 - November 27, 2018
  • $338.00 - November 26, 2018
  • $348.00 - November 13, 2018
  • $347.98 - November 8, 2018
  • $348.00 - November 3, 2018
  • $338.00 - November 2, 2018
Since: June 20, 2018
  • Highest Price: $399.99 - November 29, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $220.00 - December 17, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: December 17, 2018 9:11 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Sony MDR-1000X Noise Cancelling, Bluetooth Headphone, Black (International Version with Full Warranty)

9 used from $199.99
Last update was on: December 17, 2018 4:11 pm
in stock

Other Top Headphones

There were a lot of good choices in the wireless noise canceling headphone category. We did not want to fail to give credit where credit was due. So here are three more wireless noise-canceling headphones that we feel would be a good choice for the money as well. We didn’t find them quite the best of the best.

8.5/10 Read review
85 %
Price history
×
Price history for Sennheiser PXC 550
Latest updates:
  • $240.15 - December 17, 2018
  • $240.16 - December 15, 2018
  • $240.14 - December 15, 2018
  • $239.81 - December 14, 2018
  • $240.16 - December 13, 2018
  • $241.07 - December 12, 2018
  • $242.20 - December 12, 2018
  • $243.92 - December 11, 2018
Since: June 20, 2018
  • Highest Price: $349.95 - June 21, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $199.99 - November 23, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: December 17, 2018 9:11 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Sennheiser PXC 550 Wireless – NoiseGard Adaptive Noise Cancelling, Bluetooth Headphone with Touch Sensitive Control and 30-Hour Battery Life

7 used from $169.29
Free shipping
Last update was on: December 17, 2018 4:11 pm
in stock
$240.16 $292.41
80 %
Last Amazon price update was: December 17, 2018 5:12 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Samsung Level On Wireless Noise Canceling Headphones, Blue-Retail packaging

1 used from $129.99
Free shipping
Last update was on: December 17, 2018 4:11 pm
in stock
8.4/10 Read review
84 %
Price history
×
Price history for Plantronics BackBeat PRO 2
Latest updates:
  • $248.00 - December 12, 2018
  • $249.99 - December 3, 2018
  • $249.38 - December 2, 2018
  • $249.99 - November 27, 2018
  • $179.99 - November 26, 2018
  • $249.99 - November 22, 2018
  • $247.89 - November 21, 2018
  • $248.07 - November 21, 2018
Since: June 20, 2018
  • Highest Price: $249.99 - September 25, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $158.47 - June 26, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: December 17, 2018 4:11 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Plantronics BackBeat PRO 2 Special Edition - Wireless Noise Cancelling Headphones

15 used from $157.29
Free shipping
Last update was on: December 17, 2018 4:11 pm
in stock
$248.00 $249.99

Best Wired Noise-Canceling Headphones

Maybe some of you don’t care about being connected to your CD player, iPod, computer or another device. Alternatively, perhaps you still feel that wireless transmission loses some of the audio quality that you are listening to. Either way or both, we thought that it was important to list some wired noise-canceling headphones that might do the trick for you. Here are a couple of options that you will love.

8.5/10 Read review
85 %
Price history
×
Price history for Bose QC25
Latest updates:
  • $169.99 - November 1, 2018
  • $179.99 - October 3, 2018
  • $169.99 - September 16, 2018
  • $179.99 - September 8, 2018
  • $189.99 - August 25, 2018
  • $179.99 - July 29, 2018
Since: July 29, 2018
  • Highest Price: $189.99 - August 25, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $169.99 - September 16, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: December 17, 2018 6:11 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Bose QuietComfort 25 Noise Cancelling Headphones (Apple) Black

1 used from $199.00
Last update was on: December 17, 2018 4:11 pm
in stock
$189.95 $345.00
8.3/10 Read review
83 %
Last Amazon price update was: December 17, 2018 9:11 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Audio-Technica ATH-ANC7B QuietPoint Active Noise-Cancelling Closed-Back Headphones, Wired

7 used from $80.64
Free shipping
Last update was on: December 17, 2018 4:11 pm
in stock
$99.95 $199.95

back to menu ↑

Models Under $200

When we set out to research these headphones for you we were a little surprised that noise-canceling technology was still so expensive. I think we were programmed by the idea that since you could get Walmart specials for under $50.00 that prices would have dropped for noise canceling headphones. However, we really should have known better. You do get what you pay for.

That being said, without compromising our commitment to providing you the best quality choices in headphones we did find some that are more affordable. Here are a couple of great sets of headphones that you might want to consider if you are on a tight budget.

8.8/10 Read review
88 %
Price history
×
Price history for JBL EVEREST ELITE 300 Bluetooth headphone enclosed type / on-ear / noise canceli
Latest updates:
  • $162.73 - November 15, 2018
  • $162.78 - November 7, 2018
  • $211.42 - October 29, 2018
Since: October 29, 2018
  • Highest Price: $211.42 - October 29, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $162.73 - November 15, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: December 17, 2018 2:12 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

JBL Everest Elite 300 NXTGen Noise-Canceling Bluetooth On-Ear Headphones (White)

3 used from $129.00
Last update was on: December 17, 2018 4:11 pm
out of stock
80 %
Price history
×
Price history for Sony XB950N1 Extra Bass Wireless Noise Canceling Headphones, Black
Latest updates:
  • $113.00 - December 17, 2018
  • $178.00 - November 22, 2018
  • $248.00 - November 17, 2018
  • $167.22 - November 17, 2018
  • $113.00 - November 16, 2018
  • $198.42 - November 15, 2018
  • $248.00 - November 4, 2018
  • $198.00 - October 20, 2018
Since: June 24, 2018
  • Highest Price: $248.00 - June 24, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $113.00 - November 16, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: December 17, 2018 3:13 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Sony XB950N1 Extra Bass Wireless Noise Canceling Headphones, Black

25 used from $99.44
Free shipping
Last update was on: December 17, 2018 4:11 pm
in stock

back to menu ↑

Enjoying Your New Headphones

Whether you are traveling by plane, train, or automobile, you are going to love your new set of noise canceling headphones. There is nothing like being immersed in the sounds of music, or for that matter if you are trying to block out the world, the sounds of silence!

Once you buy your set of noise-canceling headphones, you will never return to those Walmart specials I talked about earlier. You will have arrived in audio heaven.

Are YOU Looking For The BEST Noise Cancelling Headphones To Use In YOUR Office, While Travelling, Sleeping Or Studying? COMPARE Prices And Features In Our List Of The Top Sound Resistant Headphones So YOU Can Hear

Duke Taber is the owner of 3 successful websites and is now taking his skill as a writer and using it to help non-profit organizations and leaders around the world.

We would be happy to hear your thoughts on this item.

      Leave a reply

      39 Shares
      Pin39
      Share
      Tweet
      39 Shares
      Pin39
      Share
      Tweet