Best Noise Canceling Headphones – Editors Choice 2018

Sometimes the best sound is silence.

When you are on the hunt for the best noise-canceling headphones, it is important that you do your research. They can be expensive. Many are upwards of $300.00 or more. However, they are worth the price. The difference between that free set of earbuds you got with your smartphone or iPod and a quality pair of noise-canceling headphones is like night and day. It is indescribable.

That is why we at Taber’s Best Reviews set out on a journey to discover the top noise canceling headphones for you. We know your time is valuable and you would rather listen to your tunes or favorite podcast instead of spending hours on the internet.

We spent hours researching and testing each product on our list of noise-canceling headphones is the greatest that can be found on the internet. Our research included wireless noise-canceling headphones, wired noise-canceling headphones, and some lesser priced models as well for those that cannot justify an expensive pair.

We tested them using some of the heaviest metal found, the sweetest symphonies, and with podcasts featuring all different types of speaking styles. We also looked at the sizes and weights, battery life when applicable, and the comfort of wearing them for long periods of time.

In this article, you will find a quick comparison chart of the top-notch noise-canceling headphones, and then below you will see a mini review of each headphone.

Our Top Headphone Picks For You In 2018

Last update was on: September 22, 2018 4:33 am

back to menu ↑

How We Chose These Headphones For You

Why You Should Trust Us

We spent over 40 hours researching and writing this list of noise canceling earphones so you wouldn’t have to spend your time doing the research. We consulted with the top experts in the industry and coupled that with our own experience to bring you this list.  We do not accept free products or incentives when we review products to keep our opinions unbiased and helpful to our readers.

In making this list of the best headsets, we kept three things in mind: Features, price, and customer satisfaction.

Features

One of the most important things about purchasing a new set of headphones is the features that the headset has.

  • How hot does it get?
  • Is it wired or wireless?
  • Is it a combo set?
  • Does it have voice, touch, or button controls?
  • Is it comfortable to wear over long periods of time?
  • How useful is the noise cancellation feature?

All of these things are important in choosing your new set of noise-canceling earphones, or deciding which one will be an excellent gift for a friend or loved one. So that is what we looked for in each headphone We only picked headsets that had one or more of these options.

Price

We kept the price range around $400.00 or less so that anyone can afford a top noise canceling set of headphones. When buying your first set of phones, you might not want to buy the most expensive ones. You might want to start off small and then upgrade later if you feel that you need to. That is why we have also included some sets that range under $200.00 for you.

Most people buy a set of noise-canceling earphones to block out the noise and distractions of the world around them and make their quality of life better. We made sure that we only listed the headsets that will accomplish that goal.

Customer Satisfaction

Every set of headphones that we have listed are rated by customers at 80% positive or higher depending on the rating system used on different websites.

We also read all the individual customer reviews to see how well the manufacturer responded to customer issues and how well people recommended these headphones. We only took into account customers with a verified purchase. They are real buyers reviewing the product.

back to menu ↑

Which Are The Best?

Picking a good set of noise canceling headphone depends upon your needs.

  • What type of noise are you trying to block out?
  • Do you want wired, wireless or both?
  • Do you need to be able to receive calls and talk as well?
  • How big do you want your headphones to be?
  • How long will you be wearing your headphones on average?
  • Do you need extended battery life?

These are the type of questions you need to think about when buying a set of headphones. Not all of the headphones will fit your need.

Here is our list of the best headphones that we think you should consider.

back to menu ↑

Best Overall

There are three different type of noise-canceling headphones. They are wireless headphones, wired headphones and those that offer both options. We separated them by wired or wireless. The ones that provide both are listed under the wireless category

Here are three wireless noise-canceling headphones that we feel are the best of the best overall.

9.3/10 Read review
93 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Bose QuietComfort 35 (Series II) Wireless Headphones, Noise Cancelling - Black - $309.99
Last Amazon price update was: September 21, 2018 4:33 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Bose QuietComfort 35 (Series II)

16 used from $270.00
Free shipping
Last update was in: September 22, 2018 4:33 am
$299.00 $349.00

First Runner Up In 2018

8.5/10 Read review
85 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Sennheiser Momentum 2.0 - $349.95
Last Amazon price update was: September 21, 2018 8:34 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Sennheiser Momentum 2.0

1 used from $369.99
Last update was in: September 22, 2018 4:33 am
$399.95 $499.95

Honorable Mention In 2018

8.3/10 Read review
83 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Sony MDR-1000X - $280.00
Last Amazon price update was: September 21, 2018 3:33 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Sony MDR-1000X Headphones

4 used from $269.00
Last update was in: September 22, 2018 4:33 am
$340.00 $359.00

Other Top Headphones

There were a lot of good choices in the wireless noise canceling headphone category. We did not want to fail to give credit where credit was due. So here are three more wireless noise-canceling headphones that we feel would be a good choice for the money as well. We didn’t find them quite the best of the best.

8.5/10 Read review
85 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Seinheiser PXC 550 - $249.99
Last Amazon price update was: September 21, 2018 3:33 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Sennheiser PXC 550 Headphones

4 used from $249.95
Free shipping
Last update was in: September 22, 2018 4:33 am
$299.00 $299.95
80 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Samsung Level On Wireless Noise Canceling Headphones, Black - $124.95
Price history
×
Price history for Samsung Level On Wireless Noise Canceling Headphones, Black
Latest updates:
  • $124.95 - July 23, 2018
  • $99.95 - June 1, 2018
Since: June 1, 2018
  • Highest Price: $124.95 - July 23, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $99.95 - June 1, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: September 21, 2018 7:31 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Samsung Level On Headphones

3 used from $79.22
Free shipping
Last update was in: September 22, 2018 4:33 am
$210.00 $214.80
8.4/10 Read review
84 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Plantronics BackBeat PRO 2 - $202.12
Price history
×
Price history for Plantronics BackBeat PRO 2
Latest updates:
  • $202.12 - September 21, 2018
  • $203.95 - September 20, 2018
  • $209.76 - September 19, 2018
  • $172.84 - September 14, 2018
  • $175.84 - September 13, 2018
  • $178.95 - September 13, 2018
  • $175.84 - September 6, 2018
  • $192.47 - September 4, 2018
Since: April 10, 2018
  • Highest Price: $224.99 - April 21, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $158.47 - June 26, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: September 21, 2018 11:32 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Plantronics BackBeat PRO 2 Special Edition

2 used from $130.74
Free shipping
Last update was in: September 22, 2018 4:33 am

Best Wired Noise-Canceling Headphones

Maybe some of you don’t care about being connected to your CD player, iPod, computer or another device. Alternatively, perhaps you still feel that wireless transmission loses some of the audio quality that you are listening to. Either way or both, we thought that it was important to list some wired noise-canceling headphones that might do the trick for you. Here are a couple of options that you will love.

8.5/10 Read review
85 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Bose QC25 - $169.99
Price history
×
Price history for Bose QC25
Latest updates:
  • $169.99 - September 16, 2018
  • $179.99 - September 8, 2018
  • $189.99 - August 25, 2018
  • $179.99 - July 29, 2018
  • $189.99 - June 1, 2018
Since: June 1, 2018
  • Highest Price: $189.99 - June 1, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $169.99 - September 16, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: September 21, 2018 4:33 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Bose QuietComfort 25 Headphones

Last update was in: September 22, 2018 4:33 am
8.3/10 Read review
83 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Audio-Technica QuietPoint ATH-ANC7B Headband Headphones - Black - $55.00
Last Amazon price update was: September 21, 2018 4:33 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Audio Technica AUD ATH-ANC7B Headphones

7 used from $70.32
Free shipping
Last update was in: September 22, 2018 4:33 am

back to menu ↑

Models Under $200

When we set out to research these headphones for you we were a little surprised that noise-canceling technology was still so expensive. I think we were programmed by the idea that since you could get Walmart specials for under $50.00 that prices would have dropped for noise canceling headphones. However, we really should have known better. You do get what you pay for.

That being said, without compromising our commitment to providing you the best quality choices in headphones we did find some that are more affordable. Here are a couple of great sets of headphones that you might want to consider if you are on a tight budget.

8.8/10 Read review
88 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: JBL Everest 300 Wireless Bluetooth On-Ear Headphones (Black) - $164.99
Price history
×
Price history for JBL Everest 300 Wireless Bluetooth On-Ear Headphones (Black)
Latest updates:
  • $164.99 - August 11, 2018
  • $174.99 - August 7, 2018
  • $164.99 - August 7, 2018
  • $174.99 - August 2, 2018
  • $179.99 - July 31, 2018
  • $189.99 - July 28, 2018
  • $199.99 - July 4, 2018
  • $195.00 - July 3, 2018
Since: April 10, 2018
  • Highest Price: $250.25 - June 18, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $164.99 - August 7, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: August 19, 2018 6:32 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

JBL Everest 300 Headphones

4 used from $124.89
Last update was in: September 22, 2018 4:33 am
$164.99 $169.99
80 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Sony XB950N1 Noise Canceling Extra Bass Wireless Bluetooth Headphones, Black - $248.00
Price history
×
Price history for Sony XB950N1 Noise Canceling Extra Bass Wireless Bluetooth Headphones, Black
Latest updates:
  • $248.00 - June 10, 2018
  • $99.99 - June 1, 2018
Since: June 1, 2018
  • Highest Price: $248.00 - June 10, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $99.99 - June 1, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: September 21, 2018 4:33 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Sony XB950N1 Extra Bass Headphones

17 used from $79.99
Free shipping
Last update was in: September 22, 2018 4:33 am
$178.00 $249.99

back to menu ↑

Enjoying Your New Headphones

Whether you are traveling by plane, train, or automobile, you are going to love your new set of noise canceling headphones. There is nothing like being immersed in the sounds of music, or for that matter if you are trying to block out the world, the sounds of silence!

Once you buy your set of noise-canceling headphones, you will never return to those Walmart specials I talked about earlier. You will have arrived in audio heaven.

Duke Taber is the owner of 3 successful websites and is now taking his skill as a writer and using it to help non-profit organizations and leaders around the world.

We would be happy to hear your thoughts on this item.

      Leave a reply