Best Sewing Machines For Beginners

Nothing speaks love more than when somebody makes something with his or her own hands for you. That is why many people are returning to handmade clothing, quilts, linens, and other sewing projects. That is why we decided to spend hours researching and writing our findings to bring you this list of the top sewing machines for beginners.

We believe that as you read our picks, you will find a great machine for you to start your project of love for those people in your life that you want to bless.

We consulted with experts who have used these sewing machines in the most extreme conditions. We also looked at things like size, weight, durability, and reliability. We know that you will be using your machine for years to come and we wanted to make sure that we were giving you good advice.

In this article, you will find a quick price comparison chart of the best sewing machines, and then below you will find product listings for each device pulled from Amazon’s product database for you to compare.

Just take a look at the sewing machines we have picked. I think you will agree. Nothing makes you feel unique as the gift someone gives you that was born out of their heart and hard work.

However, before we go onto the list, here is a helpful video on how to buy a sewing machine by the National Sewing Circle.

Our Top Sewing Machine Picks For Beginners

Last update was on: September 21, 2018 7:31 pm

How We Picked These Machines

Why You Should Trust Us

We spent over 40 hours researching and writing this list of sewing machines for beginners so you wouldn’t have to spend your time doing the research. We consulted with the top experts in the industry and coupled that with our own experience to bring you this list.  We do not accept free products or incentives when we review products to keep our opinions unbiased and helpful to our readers

In making this list of machines, we held three things in mind: Features, price, and customer satisfaction.

Sewing Machine Features

One of the most important things about purchasing a new sewing machine is the features that the device has.

  • Does it have pre-programmed stitches?
  • Is it easy to thread?
  • How well is it constructed?
  • What type of warranty does the machine have?

All of these things are important in choosing your first sewing machine or as a gift for a new seamstress or tailor. So that is what we looked for in these sewing machines. We only picked machines that had one or more of these options.

We spent over 40 hours researching and writing this list of the best sewing machines so you wouldn’t have to spend your time doing the research and more time enjoying your new device.

Price Of The Sewing Machine

We kept the price range under $200.00 so that anyone who is starting out sewing can afford the machine. That being said, the pricier devices usually are the best ones as well. It is how things work in this world. You get what you pay for.

However, if you don’t need the absolute best sewing machine right off the bat, we came up with two good options for you.

Most people buy a sewing machine to make their life easier. We made sure that we only listed the sewing machines that will accomplish that goal.

Customer Satisfaction With The Sewing Machines

Every machine that we have listed are rated by customers at 80% or higher depending on the rating system used on different websites. They are either four stars or higher at the time of the review.

We also read all the individual customer reviews to see how well the manufacturer responded to customer issues and how well people recommended these sewing machines. We only took into account customers with a verified purchase. They are real buyers reviewing the product.

back to menu ↑

The Top Sewing Machines

After all our research we have determined which are the best sewing machines for beginners. After consulting our researchers, our editor has listed the top choices.

9.4/10 Read review
94 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Singer Electric Sewing Machine Stylist 7258 BRAND NEW - $129.00
Last Amazon price update was: September 21, 2018 3:33 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

SINGER | 7258 100-Stitch Computerized

When it comes to quality sewing, the Singer 7258 is a cut above the rest with its 2-time Consumer’s Digest Award winning technology.  Affordable and easy to use, there is little to critique concerning this machine.

Usually ships in 1 to 3 months & Free shipping
Last update was in: September 21, 2018 7:31 pm

First Runner-Up For Best Sewing Machine In 2018

8.8/10 Read review
88 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Janome Sewing Machine Model 2212 Quilt Beginner + BONUS KIT - $189.00
Last Amazon price update was: September 21, 2018 8:34 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features

Janome 2212

For anyone looking for a new sewing machine to start a new hobby or get into sewing, one of the best choices you can make is the Janome 2212, an excellent beginner sewing machines. This particular machine is easy for beginners to use yet versatile enough to allow them to grow in their skills over time.

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was in: September 21, 2018 7:31 pm

Honorable Mention For Best Beginner Sewing Machine For 2018

9.3/10 Read review
93 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Brother CS6000i Feature-Rich Sewing Machine With 60 Built-In Stitches, 7 styles - $138.00
Last Amazon price update was: September 21, 2018 3:33 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Brother CS6000i

User-friendly and portable, the Brother CS6000i Feature-Rich Sewing Machine offers a wide range of sewing and quilting features. Select from 60 built-in sewing stitches, including decorative stitches and 7 styles of one-step buttonholes, choose from one of 9 included presser feet, and use the detachable, oversized table for larger projects like quilts.

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was in: September 21, 2018 7:31 pm

$148.99 $149.00

The Best Inexpensive Sewing Machines For Beginners

Maybe you are just starting out sewing and you don’t want to spend a lot of money. These machines are the ones you should look at. At this price point you have not spent all your savings if you decide sewing was not your cup of tea, and yet you still get a good quality machine that won’t give you a lot of trouble because you bought something too cheap.

90 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Brother XM2701 Lightweight, Full-Featured Sewing Machine with 27 Stitches, 1-Step Auto-Size Buttonholer, 6 Sewing Feet, and Instructional DVD - $81.08
Price history
×
Price history for Brother XM2701 Lightweight, Full-Featured Sewing Machine with 27 Stitches, 1-Step Auto-Size Buttonholer, 6 Sewing Feet, and Instructional DVD
Latest updates:
  • $81.08 - September 9, 2018
  • $96.09 - August 26, 2018
  • $96.50 - August 24, 2018
  • $96.63 - August 22, 2018
  • $99.99 - August 20, 2018
  • $96.08 - July 27, 2018
  • $96.31 - July 26, 2018
  • $94.88 - July 26, 2018
Since: April 14, 2018
  • Highest Price: $119.69 - July 24, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $81.08 - September 9, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: September 21, 2018 4:33 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Brother XM2701 Lightweight,

With a full range of user-friendly features and lightweight design, the Brother XM2701 is perfect for beginners learning to sew, and for more advanced sewers looking for versatility.

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was in: September 21, 2018 7:31 pm

$81.08 $99.99

8.5/10 Read review
85 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: SINGER | Start 1304 - $81.47
Price history
×
Price history for SINGER | Start 1304
Latest updates:
  • $81.47 - September 12, 2018
  • $83.99 - September 11, 2018
  • $50.49 - September 11, 2018
  • $83.99 - August 30, 2018
  • $122.33 - August 29, 2018
  • $83.99 - August 28, 2018
  • $120.61 - August 28, 2018
  • $122.83 - August 27, 2018
Since: April 14, 2018
  • Highest Price: $179.10 - June 10, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $50.49 - September 11, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: September 21, 2018 3:32 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

SINGER | Start 1304

The SINGER® start sewing machine gives beginning sewists and hobbyists just enough features to get their creativity off the ground. Perfect for beginners and hobbyists.

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was in: September 21, 2018 7:31 pm

$81.47 $159.99

back to menu ↑

Other Great Beginner Sewing Machines

  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Brother XR3774 Full-Featured

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was in: September 21, 2018 7:31 pm

$100.99 $249.00


  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Singer | Simple 3232 Portable

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was in: September 21, 2018 7:31 pm

$97.99 $199.99


  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Janome Fastlane Fuschia Basic, Easy-to-Use

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was in: September 21, 2018 7:31 pm

$63.32 $119.00


  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Janome Arctic Crystal Easy-to-Use

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was in: September 21, 2018 7:31 pm

$99.88 $199.00

  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Brother XM1010

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was in: September 21, 2018 7:31 pm

Final Thoughts On These Sewing Machines

Congratulations on wanting to get a new sewing machine. The art of sewing is becoming a dying skill. We believe that these machines are the best sewing machines for beginners. You will have hours of fun and satisfaction using one of these machines.

If for some reason you are looking for something more than these machines offer, we recommend that you read our list of the best sewing machines for quilters. Alternatively, you can read our sewing machine reviews, and informative articles like our buyers guide below.

We hope our list of the best sewing machines for beginners has been helpful to you.

Duke Taber is the owner of 3 successful websites and is now taking his skill as a writer and using it to help non-profit organizations and leaders around the world.

We would be happy to hear your thoughts on this item.

      Leave a reply