Best Sewing Machines For Beginners

We Found The Best Sewing Machines For Beginners Just For You!

Nothing speaks love more than when somebody makes something with their own hands for you. That is why many people are returning to hand made clothing, quilts, linens, and other sewing projects. That is why we decided to spend hours researching and writing our findings in order to bring to you this list of the best sewing machines for beginners.

We believe that as you read our picks, you will find a great sewing machine for you to start your project of love for those people in your life that you are wanting to bless.

We consulted with experts who have used these sewing machines in the most extreme conditions. We also looked at things like size, weight, durability, and reliability. We know that you will be using your sewing machine for years to come and we wanted to make sure that we were giving you good advice.

In this article you will find a quick price comparison chart of the best sewing machines for beginners, and then below you will find product listings for each weed sewing machine pulled from Amazon’s product database for you to compare.

Just take a look at the sewing machines we have picked. I think you will agree. Nothing makes you feel special as the gift someone gives you that was born out of their heart and hard work.

But before we go onto the list, here is a helpful video on how to buy a sewing machine by the National Sewing Circle.

Our Top Sewing Machine Picks For Beginners

Singer 7258 Review And Best Price Comparison

Are YOU Looking For A NEW Sewing Machine? There Has Been Major Technological Improvements In Modern Sewing Machines. ...

9.3
Best seller 2 Janome 2212 Review And Best Price Comparison

Janome 2212 Review And Best Price Comparison

Are YOU Looking For A NEW Sewing Machine For A Beginner? There Has Been Major Technological Improvements In Modern ...

8.8
3 Brother CS6000i Review And Best Price Comparison

Brother CS6000i Review And Best Price Comparison

Are YOU Looking For A NEW Sewing Machine? There Has Been Major Technological Improvements In Modern Sewing Machines. ...

9.3
4 Brother XM2701 Review And Best Price Comparison

Brother XM2701 Review And Best Price Comparison

Are YOU Looking For A NEW Sewing Machine? There Has Been Major Technological Improvements In Modern Sewing Machines. ...

9
Best price 5 Singer 1304 Review And Best Price Comparison

Singer 1304 Review And Best Price Comparison

Are YOU Looking For A NEW Sewing Machine For A Beginner? There Has Been Major Technological Improvements In Modern ...

8.5

back to menu ↑

How We Picked These Sewing Machines

Why You Should Trust Us

We spent over 40 hours researching and writing this list of the best sewing machines for beginners so you wouldn’t have to spend your time doing the research. We consulted with the top experts in the industry and coupled that with our own personal experience to bring you this list.  We do not accept free products or incentives when we review products in order to keep our opinions unbiased and helpful to our readers

In making this list of the best beginner sewing machines we kept 3 things in mind: Features, price, and customer satisfaction.

Sewing Machine Features

One of the most important things about purchasing a new sewing machine is the features that the sewing machine comes with. Does it have a pre-programmed stitches? Is it easy to thread? How well is it constructed? What type of warranty does the sewing machine have?

All of these things are important in choosing your first sewing machine or as a gift for a new seamstress or tailor. So that is what we looked for. We only picked sewing machine that had one or more of these options.

We spent over 40 hours researching and writing this list of the best sewing machines so you wouldn’t have to spend your time doing the research and more time enjoying your new sewing machine.

Price Of The Sewing Machine

We kept the price range under $200.00 so that anyone who is starting out sewing can afford the machine. That being said, the more pricier sewing machines usually are the best ones as well. It is just how things work in this world. You get what you pay for.

However if you don’t need the absolute best sewing machine right off the bat, we came up with 5 good options for you.

Most people buy a sewing machine to make their life easier. We made sure that we only listed the sewing machines that will accomplish that goal.​

Customer Satisfaction​

Every sewing machine that we have listed are rated by customers at 80% or higher depending on the rating system used on different websites. They are either 4 stars or higher at the time of the review.

We also read all the individual customer reviews to see how well the manufacturer responded to customer issues and how well people recommended these sewing machines. We only took into account customers with a verified purchase. They are real buyers reviewing the product.

back to menu ↑

The Best Sewing Machines For Beginners

After all our research we have determined which are the best sewing machines for beginners. After consulting our researchers, our editor has listed the top choices for beginner sewing machines.

9.3/10 Read review
93 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: SINGER 7258 Stylist Award-Winning 100-Stitch Computerized Free-Arm Sewing Machin - $146.99
Last Amazon price update was: June 19, 2018 12:00 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

SINGER | 7258 100-Stitch Computerized Sewing Machine with 76 Decorative Stitches, Automatic...

When it comes to quality sewing, the Singer 7258 is a cut above the rest with its 2-time Consumer’s Digest Award winning technology.  Affordable and easy to use, there is little to critique concerning this machine.

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was in: June 19, 2018 2:58 am

$179.00 $189.11

8.8/10 Read review
88 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Janome 2212 Sewing Machine Bonus Bundle - $189.00
Last Amazon price update was: June 19, 2018 2:58 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features

Janome 2212 Sewing Machine Includes Exclusive Bonus Bundle

For anyone looking for a new sewing machine to start a new hobby or get into sewing, one of the best choices you can make is the Janome 2212, an excellent beginner sewing machines. This particular machine is easy for beginners to use yet versatile enough to allow them to grow in their skills over time.

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was in: June 19, 2018 2:58 am
9.3/10 Read review
93 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Brother CS6000i Feature-Rich Sewing Machine With 60 Built-In Stitches, 7 styles of 1-Step Auto-Size Buttonholes, Quilting Table, and Hard Cover - $147.99
Price history
×
Price history for Brother CS6000i Feature-Rich Sewing Machine With 60 Built-In Stitches, 7 styles of 1-Step Auto-Size Buttonholes, Quilting Table, and Hard Cover
Latest updates:
  • $147.99 - June 15, 2018
  • $132.05 - June 8, 2018
  • $139.00 - May 19, 2018
  • $182.28 - May 12, 2018
  • $141.80 - May 5, 2018
  • $141.86 - April 28, 2018
  • $144.74 - April 21, 2018
Since: April 21, 2018
  • Highest Price: $182.28 - May 12, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $132.05 - June 8, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: June 19, 2018 12:59 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Brother CS6000i Feature-Rich Sewing Machine With 60 Built-In Stitches, 7 styles of...

User-friendly and portable, the Brother CS6000i Feature-Rich Sewing Machine offers a wide range of sewing and quilting features. Select from 60 built-in sewing stitches, including decorative stitches and 7 styles of one-step buttonholes, choose from one of 9 included presser feet, and use the detachable, oversized table for larger projects like quilts.

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was in: June 19, 2018 2:58 am

back to menu ↑

The Best Inexpensive Sewing Machines For Beginners

Maybe you are just starting out sewing and you don’t want to spend a lot of money. These sewing machines are the ones you should look at. At this price point you have not spent all your savings if you decide sewing was not your cup of tea, and yet you still get a good quality sewing machine that won’t give you a lot of trouble because you bought something too cheap.

90 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Brother XM2701 Lightweight, Full-Featured Sewing Machine with 27 Stitches, 1-Step Auto-Size Buttonholer, 6 Sewing Feet, and Instructional DVD - $81.23
Price history
×
Price history for Brother XM2701 Lightweight, Full-Featured Sewing Machine with 27 Stitches, 1-Step Auto-Size Buttonholer, 6 Sewing Feet, and Instructional DVD
Latest updates:
  • $81.23 - June 8, 2018
  • $95.81 - May 12, 2018
  • $92.82 - April 21, 2018
Since: April 21, 2018
  • Highest Price: $95.81 - May 12, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $81.23 - June 8, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: June 19, 2018 2:58 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Brother XM2701 Lightweight, Full-Featured Sewing Machine with 27 Stitches, 1-Step Auto-Size Buttonholer,...

With a full range of user-friendly features and lightweight design, the Brother XM2701 is perfect for beginners learning to sew, and for more advanced sewers looking for versatility.

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was in: June 19, 2018 2:58 am
8.5/10 Read review
85 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Singer 1304 Start Sewing Machine - $89.88
Price history
×
Price history for Singer 1304 Start Sewing Machine
Latest updates:
  • $89.88 - May 12, 2018
  • $89.99 - May 4, 2018
  • $99.99 - April 20, 2018
Since: April 20, 2018
  • Highest Price: $99.99 - April 20, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $89.88 - May 12, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: June 19, 2018 12:59 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

SINGER | Start 1304 Sewing Machine with 6 Built-In Stitches, Free Arm...

The SINGER® start sewing machine gives beginning sewists and hobbyists just enough features to get their creativity off the ground. Perfect for beginners and hobbyists.

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was in: June 19, 2018 2:58 am

Sewing Machine Buying Guide

back to menu ↑

Sewing Machine Buying Guide

What Is The Best Sewing Machine For You?

Well in all honesty, that depends on you. What is best for a novice will not be best for someone with a high skill level. It also depends on what type of sewing you will do. What works for basic repairs and hemming will not be enough for someone who does quilting, bedspreads or drapes.

You also want to take into consideration that your skill level and the type of projects you want to embark on may increase over time. So the right sewing machine for you might need to include the expectation of growth.

You can get a good basic sewing machine for under a couple of hundred bucks. This will usually satisfy the novice and hobbyist sewist.  You might need to spend more for a more complex sewing machine that have a lot more programmed functions. A top of the line model can cost you upwards of a thousand dollars or more.

We at Taber’s Best Reviews want to help you make wise decisions in your purchases. That is why we have written this sewing machine buyer’s guide. We want to make buying a new sewing machine easy for you.

That is important in today’s world. The latest sewing machines have a lot of features. They can tell you the proper pressure foot, determine the right thread tension and stitch length. They can give you options on the sizes of buttonholes and sew it automatically, Then when you are done they can cut the thread for you as well.

back to menu ↑

Types Of Sewing Machines

There are 3 basic types of sewing machines. They are mechanical, electronic, and embroidery/specialty sewing machines. We will give you a brief overview of each type of machine.

Mechanical Sewing Machine

A mechanical sewing machine is just a basic machine without any real computer or programming included. You usually have to thread them manually and you have to set the controls of them by hand. They have a foot pedal that controls the speed the machine sews, but at least they are not like the antiques where you had to mechanically rock the pedal to control the speed. They are electrical but just not fancy.

Electronic Sewing Machine

Unless you are just going to do some clothing repairs or hems on garments, we recommend that you purchase at least an electronic sewing machine. These machines can automate most of the monotonous tasks that are performed.

They usually have a LED screen with touchpad control. They have a lot of presser feet for challenges such as piping and topstitching. Many of them come with dozens if not hundreds of different programmed stitches to choose from.

Embroidery/Specialty Sewing Machines

In addition to all the great features you will find in an electronic sewing machine, the embroidery/specialty machines come with some very unique features of their own. You will gain the ability to do monogramming and embroidery for projects such as garments, quilts, bedspreads, and pillowcases.

These machines hold a hoop under its needle and moves the hoop in four different directions as the needle sews the pattern. You start by stretching the fabric over the hoop. You then secure the hoop under the needle. Patterns are built into the sewing machine’s memory, or purchased on SD memory cards, CDs, or data sticks or they can even be linked from your computer.

A touch screen or link to your computer lets you position the pattern and specify the colors for each design element. Often these machines let you resize, re-position and mirror patterns and give an audio signal to let you know when to change colors.

back to menu ↑

Features To Look For In A Sewing Machine

Most sewing machines, including the basic mechanical ones can handle a variety of fabrics. The can be used on satin or denim or corduroy, without stretching or puckering the fabric or causing loose, loopy stitches. Having good lighting around where you are working is essential of course. However there are a lot more features to consider. Here are some of the most important ones.

Automatic Buttonholer

Sewing a buttonhole can sometimes be a pain with turning the fabric and changing stitches. Now you can get an automatic buttonholer with many sewing machines. Some machines even allow you to insert the button into a slot on the machine so that the machine will sew a buttonhole to fit the botton’s size exactly.

Needle Position

There will be many times where you will need a  feature that allows you to move the needle, and stitching line, from left to right, and to have the needle up or down when you stop. Making sure you have a machine that allows you to do this is important.

Needle down position makes it easy to lift the pressure foot and turn a corner without a jump stitch.

Automatic Needle Threader

This feature pulls the thread through the eye of the needle and saves you from squinting and prevents frustration. I don’t know how many times I have missed the needle eye trying to thread a needle!

Feed-dog Adjustments

A feed-dog is the mechanism in a sewing machine that feeds the material under the needle. Some machines allow you to drop the this mechanism below the sewing surface to do free-style embroidery or darning.

Pressure Feet

Presser feet are designed for activities such as gathering and rolled hem, buttonholes, zippers and cording, blind hem and open toe, zig zag and more. You need to find out how many come with the sewing machine you are considering.

In a basic sewing machine a multi-purpose foot lets you do straight and zigzag stitches. However you will want a zipper foot and buttonhole foot at a bare minimum as well. An adjustable presser foot regulates how snugly the machine holds the fabric you are sewing, preventing puckering in fine light fabrics and stretching in knit fabrics. There are hundreds of specialty presser feet to choose from.

Efficient Controls

Nothing is more frustrating than operating a sewing machine that doesn’t have the controls in the right place or are hard to adjust. Your new sewing machine should be responsive to slight pressure adjustments on the foot pedal, and not bind up or growl when sewing thick fabrics or multiple layers of fabric.

The machine controls should be easy to reach and manipulate with your free hand, and the symbols on the machine or LED display should be easy to read, especially for us with older eyes.

Sewing machines that have more room on the right side of the needle provide more space for fabric and your hands while sewing.

Machine Weight

If you will be storing your sewing machine in a closet and hauling it out when you want to start sewing, look for a machine that’s easy to lift and has a handle on the top. Most importantly pay attention to how much the machine weighs. They can get heavy.

On/Off Switch

Pay attention to whether or not your machine will have a power switch. Some machines do not. This is especially important if you have children or clumsy adults in the house. If it doesn’t have a power switch the Sewing and Craft Alliance recommends that you plug your machine into a power supply that does have a power switch.

Speed Control

The speed control determines the pace at which fabric is fed through your sewing machine, enabling you to sew at a nice, steady tempo rather than stopping and starting. Check to see what type of speed control the machine you are considering has. Most have a foot pedal but some have a slider bar on the machine that will control the speed as well.

Top-Load Bobbin

Today’s newer machines are different than older machines, in which you had to thread the bobbin in a hiden compartment. Today many machines now allow you to simply slide open a drawer and drop the bobbin in. A clear cover lets you see when you are running low on thread.

Tension Adjustment

No, this is not a setting to help you get along better with your spouse. Instead it helps you to change how tight the thread is. When it’s too tight it can result in wrinkled fabric; if the thread is too loose, the result is sloppy stitches.

Stitches

The number of stitches varies wildly, from the basics, such as straight and zigzag, to decorative stitching. When shopping check a machine’s maximum stitch length and width. Many machines come with programmed stitch settings and will do hundreds of stitch patterns at the touch of a button.

back to menu ↑

Buying Tips

Here are a few important tips when making your buying decision on your next sewing machine.

Tip #1 The Brands

Singer, Brother, and Kenmore (Sears) are long established, well known brands, and Bernina, Husqvarna Viking, and Janome have gained popularity. Choose your brand wisely. Some brands have better customer service and warranties than others.

Tip #2 Check The Warranty

What does it covers, and what does it exclude? How long does it last? What things will void the warranty? Those are the types of questions to ask yourself before you just believe the warranty. The important stuff is in the fine print.

Tip #3 The Repair Procedure

Best Sewing Machines For BeginnersNobody likes to think they will need to send their sewing machine in for repair but it happens. The smart shopper will check out what it takes to get their machine repaired. Normally the manufacturer will send you to a repair center or to the manufacturer’s own system.

No matter who does the repairs, take a look at turnaround time, which can vary from days to weeks. Remember that repairs made by technicians who are not factory-authorized can void the manufacturer’s warranty. And keep your machine’s box and packaging, in case it needs to be shipped for repairs.

back to menu ↑

Final Thoughts On These Sewing Machines

Congratulations on wanting to get a new sewing machine. The art of sewing is becoming a dying skill. We believe that these sewing machines are the best sewing machines for beginners. You will have hours of fun and satisfaction using one of these machines.

If for some reason you are looking for something more than these machines offer, we recommend that you read our list of the best sewing machines for quilters. Or you can read our individual sewing machine reviews and informative articles on sewing machines like our buyers guide below.

Are YOU Looking For A NEW Sewing Machine? There Has Been Major Technological Improvements In Modern Sewing Machines. DISCOVER All The Features YOU Can Have In ...

Editor's Choice

Are YOU Looking For A NEW Sewing Machine? There Has Been Major Technological Improvements In Modern Sewing Machines. DISCOVER All The Features YOU Can Have In ...

Best price

Are YOU Looking For A NEW Sewing Machine For A Beginner? There Has Been Major Technological Improvements In Modern Sewing Machines. DISCOVER All The Features ...

Best value

Are YOU Looking For A NEW Sewing Machine? There Has Been Major Technological Improvements In Modern Sewing Machines. DISCOVER All The Features YOU Can Have In ...

Do YOU Want To Start Sewing YOUR Own Clothes, Linens, Quilts, Drapes And Other Cool Projects? We Went Out And Researched What Would Be The BEST Sewing Machines ...

Best seller

Are YOU Looking For A NEW Sewing Machine For A Beginner? There Has Been Major Technological Improvements In Modern Sewing Machines. DISCOVER All The Features ...

Best value

Are YOU Looking For A NEW Sewing Machine? There Has Been Major Technological Improvements In Modern Sewing Machines. DISCOVER All The Features YOU Can Have In ...

Are YOU Looking For A NEW Sewing Machine? There Has Been Major Technological Improvements In Modern Sewing Machines. DISCOVER All The Features YOU Can Have In ...

Are YOU Looking For A NEW Sewing Machine? There Has Been Major Technological Improvements In Modern Sewing Machines. DISCOVER All The Features YOU Can Have In ...

Are YOU Thinking About Becoming Suzy Seemstress or Tim Tailor By Purchasing A New Sewing Machine? DISCOVER The Features And Issues YOU Need To Consider In This ...

Are YOU Looking For A NEW Sewing Machine? There Has Been Major Technological Improvements In Modern Sewing Machines. DISCOVER All The Features YOU Can Have In ...

Do YOU Want To Start Sewing YOUR Own Beautiful Quilts To Pass On To Your Loved Ones? We Went Out And Researched What Would Be The BEST Sewing Machines For ...

Duke Taber is the owner of 3 successful websites and is now taking his skill as a webmaster and using it to help non-profit organizations and leaders around the world.

We would be happy to hear your thoughts on this item.

      Leave a reply