Best Surround Sound Speakers For Your Home Theater - Editors Choice

best surround sound speakers featured image
Some of the websites that have endorsed our reviews

When you are on the hunt for the best surround sound speakers it is important that you do your research. They can be expensive. Many are upwards of $500.00 or more. But they really are worth the price. The difference between watching movies and sports with your TV speakers and listening through a set of top quality surround sound speakers is like night and day. It is amazing how much more enjoyable they will make your movie watching experience.

That is why we at Taber’s Best Reviews set out on a journey to discover the best surround sound speaker systems and individual compact surround sound speakers for you. We know your time is valuable and you would rather spend time with your family and friends enjoying your speakers instead of spending hours on the internet reading about things like decibels, ohms, and manufacturer reputations.

We spent hours researching and testing each product so our list of the best surround sound speakers is the best that can be found on the internet. Our research included both entire systems and individual speakers.

We consulted with experts who have used these surround sound speakers in the most extreme conditions. We also looked at things like size, installation, durability, and reliability. We know that you will be using your home theater surround sound speakers for years to come and we wanted to make sure that we were giving you good advice.

In this article you will find a quick price comparison chart of the best surround sound speakers, and then below you will find product listings for each speaker system or individual speaker pulled from Amazon’s product database for you to compare. We have broken them up into these categories. Best surround sound speaker systems, the top surround sound speakers under $200.00, and the best compact surround sound speakers.

But before you start, here is a really informational video from Techlicious that will help you know what to look for in a surround sound speaker system.

Our Top Surround Sound Speaker Picks

$799.00
3 new from $799.00
3 used from $376.66
Amazon.com
Free shipping
$384.99
7 new from $384.99
4 used from $299.95
Amazon.com
Free shipping
$499.00
$699.00
7 new from $499.00
2 used from $492.45
Amazon.com
Free shipping
$525.00
$599.95
3 new from $525.00
1 used from $449.00
Amazon.com
$249.00
$499.00
15 new from $249.00
9 used from $201.27
Amazon.com
Free shipping
$149.95
$149.99
10 new from $149.95
2 used from $133.61
Amazon.com
Free shipping
$299.00
18 new from $299.00
1 used from $279.95
Amazon.com
Free shipping
$158.00
13 new from $158.00
7 used from $119.95
Amazon.com
Free shipping
Last updated on April 23, 2018 3:18 am

How We Chose These Speakers

Why You Should Trust Us

We spent over 40 hours researching and writing this list of the best surround sound speakers so you wouldn’t have to spend your time doing the research. We consulted with the top experts in the industry and coupled that with our own personal experience to bring you this list.  We do not accept free products or incentives when we review products in order to keep our opinions unbiased and helpful to our readers. 

In making this list of the best surround sound speakers we kept 3 things in mind: Sound quality, price, and customer satisfaction.

Features

Image of the inside of a surround sound speakerOne of the most important things about purchasing a new set of speakers is the features that the speaker comes with, especially the sound quality. How well do they reproduce the sound? Are they wired or wireless? Are they hard to install? Does it have the power for filling the room you have your theater in? Are they small enough to be non-obtrusive? How well do they last over time?

All of these things are important in choosing your new set of speakers, or deciding which ones will be a good gift for a friend or loved one. So that is what we looked for. We only picked speakers that had one or more of these options. 

Price

We kept the price range around $500.00 or less, so that anyone can afford investing in a top notch set of surround sound speakers. When buying your first set of speakers you might not want to buy the most expensive ones. You might want to start off small and then upgrade later if you feel that you need to. That is why we have also included some surround sound speakers that range under $200.00 for you.

Most people buy a set of surround sound speakers to make their home theater as close to a movie theater as possible and to make their quality of life better. We made sure that we only listed the speakers that will accomplish that goal.

Customer Satisfaction

Every set of surround sound speakers that we have listed are rated by customers at 80% positive or higher depending on the rating system used on different websites. We do not list companies that do not take care of their customers.

We also read all the individual customer reviews to see how well the manufacturer responded to customer issues and how well people recommended these speakers. We only took into account customers with a verified purchase. They are real buyers reviewing the product.

Which Are The Best Surround Sound Speakers?

Image of a surround sound home theater systemPicking the best surround sound speakers really depends upon your needs.

  • What type of listening are you going to be doing? 
  • Do you want compact, front and rear speakers, and a sub-woofer?
  • How loud do you want your speakers to go?
  • What size of room are you trying to fill?
  • Do you want wired or wireless speakers?

These are the type of questions you need to think about when buying a new surround sound speaker system. Not all of the speakers will fit your need.

Here is our list of the best surround sound speakers that we think you should consider.

The Best Quality Surround Sound Speaker System – Editors Choice

Quality is one of the major considerations when purchasing a surround sound speaker system for yourself or a loved one. That is why we have started our surround sound speaker list with the best quality speakers available. These complete surround sound speaker systems are the best for you in our opinion.

The six surround sound speaker systems listed in this category were chosen based on the sound quality, ease of use, and the reputation of the brands. These speakers qualify as upper end surround sound speakers that would rival any speaker in the industry.

Definitive Technology ProCinema 600 120v Center Speaker (Set of Six, White)

$799.00
3 new from $799.00
3 used from $ 376.66
Free shipping
Learn More
Amazon.com
as of April 23, 2018 3:18 am

Features

  • Single ProCenter center-channel speaker
  • Equipped with two 3.25-inch bass/midrange drivers coupled to two 3.25-inch pressure-driven planar low-frequency radiator
  • Frequency response: 55Hz - 30kHz
  • Equipped with one 1-inch pure aluminum dome tweeter
  • The high quality finish is available in gloss black or gloss white

Product Description

Definitive Technology ProCinema 600 120v Center Speaker (Set of Six, White)

Create Your Free Price Drop Alert!
Set Alert for Definitive Technology ProCinema 600 120v Center Speaker (Set of Six, White) - $799.00

First Runner Up For Best Surround Sound Speaker System

Klipsch Quintet 5.0 Home Theater Speaker System

$384.99
7 new from $384.99
4 used from $ 299.95
Free shipping
Learn More
Amazon.com
as of April 23, 2018 3:18 am

Features

  • Four miniature speakers + one low-profile center speaker
  • Built on class-leading research and development
  • High-performance sonic clarity
  • Incredible surround sound detail

Product Description

When you're the best selling surround sound system of all time, performance means everything, and the fifth generation of the Klipsch quintet doesn't disappoint. These home theater speakers utilize Tractrix horn technology and lightweight aluminum drivers for crisp, clear and uncompromising sound quality.

Create Your Free Price Drop Alert!
Set Alert for Klipsch Quintet 5.0 Home Theater Speaker System - $384.99

Other Surround Sound Speaker Systems

Although we have chosen our Editor’s Choice and First Runner Up, there were a lot of great surround sound speaker systems that came close. Here are 4 of them that still meet our quality standards.

Bose Acoustimass 6 Series V Home Theater Speaker System (Black)

$699.00
$499.00
7 new from $499.00
2 used from $ 492.45
Free shipping
Learn More
Amazon.com
as of April 23, 2018 3:18 am

Features

  • The most popular Acoustimass system from Bose delivers surround sound best suited for average-sized rooms
  • Redesigned Virtually Invisible Series II speakers are low profile and can mount flush to your wall
  • Deep low notes from powered Acoustimass module
  • Adjustable controls for volume and low-frequency effects
  • Cables and connectors included and clearly marked for easy setup

Product Description

The Acoustimass 6 Series V home theater speaker system delivers theater-like 5.1 surround sound. The small Virtually Invisible Series II speakers have been redesigned with a slimmer profile and can be mounted flush to the wall, so they better match flat-panel TVs. The Acoustimass module provides deep low-note performance - and it can be hidden out of sight behind a couch or curtain. Together, they bring Bose performance to TV, sports, movies, video games and music. You'll enjoy all your...

Create Your Free Price Drop Alert!
Set Alert for Bose Acoustimass 6 Series V Home Theater Speaker System (Black) - $499.00

Polk Audio RM705 5.1 Home Theater System (Set of Six, Black)

$599.95
$525.00
3 new from $525.00
1 used from $ 449.00
Learn More
Amazon.com
as of April 23, 2018 3:18 am

Features

  • Complete 5.1-channel surround sound speaker set; includes four satellites, one center channel, and one subwoofer
  • Heavy-duty, non-resonant composite enclosures feature an elegant, high-gloss finish
  • Reuleaux Triangular Polygon cabinet on satellites delivers maximum performance possible from such compact a speaker
  • Magnetically shielded for safe placement next to HDTVs and monitors
  • Mount the speakers on shelves or on the wall using flexible wall-mount brackets

Product Description

A Complete 5.1 Package with Powered Sub-woofer Today's best value in a perfectly matched professional quality compact home theater system: four high performance RM7 Speakers, the RM7 Center Channel Speaker plus our specially engineered, compact 50-Watt Powered Sub-woofer, packaged together. Unpack it, set it up, connect it to your receiver, and you've got the excitement of dynamic, thrilling surround sound with deep bass for movies, games and TV. This system consists of 3 basic components....

Create Your Free Price Drop Alert!
Set Alert for Polk Audio RM705 5.1 Home Theater System (Set of Six, Black) - $525.00

Logitech Z906 5.1 Surround Sound Speaker System - THX, Dolby Digital and DTS Digital Certified

$399.00
$276.99
65 new from $232.66
Free shipping
Learn More
Amazon.com
as of April 23, 2018 3:18 am

Features

  • 5.1 digital surround sound: Hear every detail in your Dolby Digital and DTS soundtracks the way the studio intended
  • THX-certified home theater speakers: Your assurance of true cinema-quality sound
  • Delivers a continuous 500 watts of power, with the ability to deliver a peak of 1,000 watts under certain circumstances: Thunderous, room-shaking audio with deep bass you can feel
  • Flexible setup: Connect up to six devices-computer, music player, TV, game console and more. System Requirements:Works with any device with either a headphone jack (3.5mm), RCA, six-channel direct, digital coaxial input or optical inputs
  • Easy sound control: Compact control console and wireless remote let you instantly personalize your surround-sound experience

Product Description

Logitech Surround Sound Speaker System Z906. Hear every detail, all around you - in theater-quality 5.1 sound.

Create Your Free Price Drop Alert!
Set Alert for Logitech Z906 5.1 Surround Sound Speaker System - THX, Dolby Digital and DTS Digital Certified - $276.99

Onkyo HT-S3800 5.1 Channel Home Theater Package

$499.00
$249.00
15 new from $249.00
9 used from $ 201.27
Free shipping
Learn More
Amazon.com
as of April 23, 2018 3:18 am

Features

  • 105 W/Ch. (6 ohms, 1 kHz, 1.0% THD, 1 Channel Driven) with discrete output stage circuitry and Five-Channel analog amplifiers
  • HDMI 4 in/ 1 out (HDCP 2.2/ HDR) for 4K/60 Hz, 3D, Audio Return Channel, Deep Color, Xavi. Color, and Lip sync.AC 120V - 60Hz 190W
  • Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD Master Audio decoding
  • Included top- quality six-piece surround-sound speaker system that's just the right size for smaller living rooms, home offices, or even dorm rooms.ace EQ Auto room calibration and easy Connection guide on receiver's back panel
  • 192 kHz/24-bit DAC for All Channels

Product Description

This neat only hit package is a compact hub that connects all your devices to the TV via a single HDMI cable, the HT-S3800 adds thrilling dynamic power to movie and game soundtracks with its neat six-piece speaker system (all included, even the cables).you get 4K/60 Hz, HDR, HDCP 2.2, Dolby trued, DTS-HD Master audio decoding, an FM/AM tuner, and Bluetooth technology to stream almost any audio for full-scale playback.

Create Your Free Price Drop Alert!
Set Alert for Onkyo HT-S3800 5.1 Channel Home Theater Package - $249.00

The Best Surround Sound Speaker Systems Under 200 Dollars

If you are looking for a good good set of surround sound speakers that that won’t deplete your piggy bank then you might want to check out these speakers. There are 2 options available for you that were under 200 dollars at the time this article was written. The current price may fluctuate depending on factors beyond our control. The prices listed next to each product picture is today’s current price.

Yamaha NS-SP1800BL 5.1-Channel Home Theater Speaker System

$149.99
$149.95
10 new from $149.95
2 used from $ 133.61
Free shipping
Learn More
Amazon.com
as of April 23, 2018 3:18 am

Features

  • 2-way satellite speakers with 2.5" woofer & 1/2" tweeter
  • Dual 2.5 inch woofers and 1/2 inch dome tweeter
  • Magnetic shielding (all speakers),Connector: Type Spring Clip
  • 8" 100W cube-type high power subwoofer, Wall hanging capability
  • The NS-SP1800BL is a standalone 5.1 channel speaker package. It is not wireless and requires a surround amplifier which is not included

Product Description

The Yamaha NS-SP1800BL 5.1-channel home theater speaker package is a low cost, convenient way to enjoy the full benefits of 5.1-channel home theater sound. The NS-SP1800BL features advanced Yamaha Active Servo Technology (Advanced YST), which is a unique system in which the speaker and amplifier work together to cancel out impedance so the speaker unit has a perfectly linear motion. Advanced YST helps to ensure the highest levels of sound pressure and overall performance.Dimensions: Front...

Create Your Free Price Drop Alert!
Set Alert for Yamaha NS-SP1800BL 5.1-Channel Home Theater Speaker System - $149.95

Fluance AV5HTB Dynamic Home Theater Surround Sound 5.0 Channel Speaker System including Powerful Two-way Bookshelf Loudspeakers, Center & Rear Speakers

$149.97
1 new from $149.97
1 used from $ 149.91
Learn More
Amazon.com
as of April 23, 2018 3:18 am

Features

  • Skillfully timbre matched 5 speaker system that will envelope you with cinematic, theater quality sound at home
  • Premium components ensure superb sound and dynamic, full range audio reproduction
  • High performance soft dome tweeters provide accurate high frequency response; Powerful 5 inch polymer-treated midrange drivers for delivering a rich, clear, room filling experience
  • Audio-grade MDF wood construction to reduce cabinet resonance and provide a warmer more natural sound
  • Industry leading full lifetime parts and labor manufacturer's direct warranty with lifetime customer support

Product Description

The movie theater experience now playing in your living room. The Fluance AV5 Home Theater System accomplishes just that. Combining two powerful bookshelf loudspeakers, and timbre matched center channel and surround sound speakers this system ensures you are bringing the theater experience home. The AV5HTB is engineered with only premium components that will successfully recreate a movie's sound effects as they were meant to be heard. So sit back, relax, turn down the lights and enjoy your...

Create Your Free Price Drop Alert!
Set Alert for Fluance AV5HTB Dynamic Home Theater Surround Sound 5.0 Channel Speaker System including Powerful... - $149.97

The Best Compact Surround Sound Speakers

If you are looking for a good set of surround sound speakers that are smaller sized and leave a small footprint, then you might want to check out these speakrs. There are 2 options available for you and we are sure that we have one listed that will meet your needs.

Bose Virtually Invisible 300 Wireless Surround Speakers (Pair, Black)

$299.00
18 new from $299.00
1 used from $ 279.95
Free shipping
Learn More
Amazon.com
as of April 23, 2018 3:18 am

Features

  • The smallest speakers designed by Bose, they remain inconspicuous while delivering full, immersive sound-so the focus can be on your home entertainment, not your speaker.
  • Designed to be paired with the Sound Touch 300 sound bar and the Acoustic 300 wireless bass module to bring music, movies and TV to life with full, immersive surround sound.
  • Simply plug it in and enjoy your entertainment in minutes.
  • Connect wirelessly for easier placement, wherever you choose.
  • Dimensions/weight :Virtually Invisible 300 speakers (each):3.2" W x 3.7" H x 3.3" D (1.2 lbs); Power cord with adapter:6.54" W x 1.6" H x 3.07" D (9.8 oz)

Product Description

It isn't enough to enjoy the sound of your favorite music, movies, and TV shows. You want to be in the center of it all. You want to feel the car chases and explosions. You want to savor the guitar solos and sweeping verses. Designed to complement the Sound Touch 300 sound bar, Virtually Invisible 300 wireless surround speakers put you in the middle of the action. Virtually Invisible 300 surround speakers are the smallest speakers designed by Bose-so small they blend in with your Sound Touch...

Create Your Free Price Drop Alert!
Set Alert for Bose Virtually Invisible 300 Wireless Surround Speakers (Pair, Black) - $299.00

Bose 161 Speaker System (Pair, Black)

$158.00
13 new from $158.00
7 used from $ 119.95
Free shipping
Learn More
Amazon.com
as of April 23, 2018 3:18 am

Features

  • Versatile speakers in black for music and movies, ideal for use in bookshelf or wall-mount applications
  • Performance rivaling much larger home stereo speakers. Custom brackets included for easy installation and flexible placement possibilities
  • Stereo Everywhere speaker performance produces balanced stereo sound over a wide area
  • Magnetically shielded speakers allow for speaker placement in close proximity to your TV
  • Custom mounting brackets included for additional placement options. Be sure to use the proper gauge (or thickness) of wire or speaker cable for the length required to run the distance between your amplifier and your speakers

Product Description

Enjoy rich, full sound from music or movies with this compact pair of sleek Bose speakers. Whether placed on a desk or bookshelf or mounted on a wall for use as surround speakers, these speakers are designed to deliver balanced, spacious sound with minimal or moderate amplifier power (10 to 100 watts per channel). Automatic protection circuitry keeps the speaker drivers from being overdriven, heightening the speakers' reliability without interfering with your listening. Bose 161 speakers in...

Amazon.com

Enjoy rich, full sound from music or movies with this compact pair of sleek Bose speakers. Whether placed on a desk or bookshelf or mounted on a wall for use as surround speakers, these speakers are designed to deliver balanced, spacious sound with minimal or moderate amplifier power (10 to 100 watts per channel). Automatic protection circuitry keeps the speaker drivers from being overdriven, heightening the speakers' reliability without interfering with your listening. If you'll be...

Create Your Free Price Drop Alert!
Set Alert for Bose 161 Speaker System (Pair, Black) - $158.00

Enjoying Your New Surround Sound Speakers

Image of a home theater with surround sound speakersWhether you love musicals, action adventure movies, or are a major league baseball fan, you are going to love your new surround sound speakers. Hearing the full orchestration, the crunch of planes crashing, or the crack of the bat will be so much better with your new speakers.

Once you buy your new set of speakers you will never regret your decision. You will be one step closer to truly bringing the movie theater experience to your home. You will have arrived in home theater heaven. 

For more information about surround sound speakers and their uses we recommend reading these articles for further study.

Surround Sound Speaker Reviews And Articles

best surround sound speakers featured image
Buyers Guides
Duke Taber

The Ultimate Surround Sound Speaker Buying Guide

Are YOU Setting Up A Home Theater? SEARCHING For New Surround Sound Speakers? LEARN Everything YOU Need To Know About The Different Types Of Surround Sound Speaker Systems And Which One Is Right For YOU In This INFORMATIVE Surround Sound Speaker Buying Guide.

Facebook
Google+
Twitter
Pinterest
StumbleUpon
Written by Duke Taber

Written by Duke Taber

Duke Taber is the owner of 3 successful websites and is now taking his skill as a webmaster and using it to help non-profit organizations and leaders around the world.