What Are The Best Weed Trimmers In 2018 – Editors Choice Awards

When you are on the hunt for the best weed trimmer, weed whacker, weed eater, whatever you want to call it, it is important that you do your research. They can be expensive. Many are upwards of $500.00 or more. But they really are worth the price. The difference between pulling those weeds by hand and mowing them down with a weed whacker is like night and day.

It is amazing how quick it can be done.That is why we at Taber’s Best Reviews set out on a journey to discover the best gas, cordless, and inexpensive weed trimmers for you. We know your time is valuable and you would rather spend time with your family and friends instead of spending hours on the internet reading about things like lithium ion batteries, 2 cycle engines, and manufacturer reputations.We spent hours researching and testing each product so our list of the best weed trimmers is the best that can be found on the internet.

We consulted with experts who have used these trimmers in the most extreme conditions. We also looked at things like size, maneuverability, durability, and reliability. We know that you will be using your weed eater for years to come and we wanted to make sure that we were giving you good advice.

In this article you will find a quick price comparison chart of the best weed trimmers, and then below you will find product listings for each weed eater pulled from Amazon’s product database for you to compare. We have broken them up into these categories. Best overall weed trimmers, best gas powered weed trimmers, best cordless weed trimmers and the top weed trimmers under $100.00But before you start, here is a really informational video from Consumer Reports that will help you know what to look for in a weed whacker.

Our Top Weed Trimmer Picks

Husqvarna 128LD Review And Best Price Comparison

Do YOU Want To Take Your Landscaping To The Next Level? Are YOU Tired Of Weeds Making Your Yard Ugly? CHECK OUT All The ...

9
2 Makita String Trimmer Review And Best Price Comparison

Makita String Trimmer Review And Best Price Comparison

Our Makita String Trimmer ReviewMakita XRU09Z LXT Lithium-Ion Brushless Cordless String Trimmer 18V X2 (36V) – ...

9.4
3 Troy-Bilt TB42 BC Review And Best Price Comparison

Troy-Bilt TB42 BC Review And Best Price Comparison

Do YOU Want To Take Your Landscaping To The Next Level? Are YOU Tired Of Weeds Making Your Yard Ugly? CHECK OUT All The ...

8.9
4 Greenworks String Trimmer Review And Best Price Comparison

Greenworks String Trimmer Review And Best Price Comparison

Do YOU Want To Take Your Landscaping To The Next Level? Are YOU Tired Of Weeds Making Your Yard Ugly? CHECK OUT All The ...

8.4
5 Toro 51480 Review And Best Price Comparison

Toro 51480 Review And Best Price Comparison

Toro 51480 ReviewToro 51480 – Helping You Determine If It’s the Best Choice Toro 51480 review – An in-depth look ...

7.5
6 Worx String Trimmer Review And Best Price Comparison

Worx String Trimmer Review And Best Price Comparison

Do YOU Want To Take Your Landscaping To The Next Level? Are YOU Tired Of Weeds Making Your Yard Ugly? CHECK OUT All The ...

8.9
7 Dewalt String Trimmer Review And Best Price Comparison

Dewalt String Trimmer Review And Best Price Comparison

Do YOU Want To Take Your Landscaping To The Next Level? Are YOU Tired Of Weeds Making Your Yard Ugly? CHECK OUT All The ...

9.3
8 Black And Decker String Trimmer Review And Best Price Comparison

Black And Decker String Trimmer Review And Best Price Comparison

Do YOU Want To Take Your Landscaping To The Next Level? Are YOU Tired Of Weeds Making Your Yard Ugly? CHECK OUT All The ...

8.8
9 Ryobi String Trimmer Review And Best Price Comparison

Ryobi String Trimmer Review And Best Price Comparison

Our Ryobi String Trimmer ReviewRyobi P2060 ONE+ 18v Lithium-Ion 12in. String Trimmer/Edger Kit – Things to know ...

8.6
10 Toro String Trimmer Review And Best Price Comparison

Toro String Trimmer Review And Best Price Comparison

Toro String Trimmer ReviewToro String Trimmer - The Ideal Product for Your Lawn Toro String Trimmer Review – An ...

7.9

back to menu ↑

How We Chose These Weed Whackers

Why You Should Trust Us

We spent over 40 hours researching and writing this list of the best weed trimmer so you wouldn’t have to spend your time doing the research. We consulted with the top experts in the industry and coupled that with our own personal experience to bring you this list.  We do not accept free products or incentives when we review products in order to keep our opinions unbiased and helpful to our readers.

In making this list of the best weed whackers we kept 3 things in mind: Features, price, and customer satisfaction.

Features

One of the most important things about purchasing a new weed eater is the features that the trimmer comes with. How easy is it to start? Is it electric or gas powered? Is it hard to maneuver? Does it have the power for deep or thick weeds? Is it large enough for big jobs? How well does it do in tight spaces?

All of these things are important in choosing your new weed trimmer, or deciding which one will be a good gift for a friend or loved one. So that is what we looked for. We only picked trimmers that had one or more of these options.

Price

We kept the price range around $300.00 or less, so that anyone can afford investing in a top notch weed whacker. When you start getting more expensive than that, then you are heading into commercial grade weed trimmers and this article is for the average person.

When buying your first weed eater you might not want to buy the most expensive one. You might want to start off small and then upgrade later if you feel that you need to. That is why we have also included some weed trimmers that range under $100.00 for you.

Most people buy a weed whacker to make the job of removing unsightly weeds much easier and make their quality of life better. We made sure that we only listed the trimmers that will accomplish that goal.

Customer Satisfaction

Every weed eater that we have listed are rated by customers at 80% positive or higher depending on the rating system used on different websites. We do not list companies that do not take care of their customers.

We also read all the individual customer reviews to see how well the manufacturer responded to customer issues and how well people recommended these trimmers. We only took into account customers with a verified purchase. They are real buyers reviewing the product.

back to menu ↑

Which Are The Best Weed Trimmers?

Best Weed TrimmersPicking the best weed trimmer really depends upon your needs.

  • What type of weed removal are you doing?
  • Do you want gas, electric, wired or wireless?
  • Do you need to be able to cut large amounts of weeds?
  • How wide of a cutting path do you desire?
  • How long will it take you to clear your weeds if you are using an electric weed whacker? Do you need long battery life?

These are the type of questions you need to think about when buying a new weed eater. Not all of the trimmers will fit your need.

Here is our list of the best weed trimmers that we think you should consider.

back to menu ↑

The Best Quality Weed Trimmer – Editors Choice

Quality is one of the major considerations when purchasing a weed trimmer for yourself or a loved one. That is why we have started our weed whacker list with the best quality weed eaters available. We included one gas powered weed trimmer and one cordless trimmer. They are the best overall option.

The two weed eaters listed in this category were chosen based on the materials used in the construction of the trimmer and the reputation of the brands. These trimmers qualify as upper end weed trimmers that would rival any trimmer in the industry.

90 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Husqvarna 128LD 17-Inch Straight Shaft Detachable String Trimmer, 28cc - $199.00
Last Amazon price update was: June 20, 2018 6:59 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Husqvarna 128LD 17-Inch Straight Shaft Detachable String Trimmer, 28cc

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was in: June 20, 2018 6:59 pm

$199.00 $219.95

9.3/10 Read review
93 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: 18-Volt X2 (36-Volt) LXT Lithium-Ion Brushless Cordless String Trimmer (Tool-Only) - $249.00
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Makita XRU09Z 18V X2 (36V) LXT Lithium-Ion Brushless Cordless String Trimmer, Tool...

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was in: June 20, 2018 6:59 pm

back to menu ↑

Best Gas Powered Weed Eater

For really big jobs that take a lot of muscle and cutting power, you should really consider a gas powered weed trimmer. The only drawback is that they are heavier than their cordless counterparts. They might be too much for small people or senior citizens. Along with the one we listed above, this gas powered weed whacker should be considered as well.

8.8/10 Read review
88 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Troy-Bilt TB42 BC 27cc 2-Cycle Gas Brushcutter with JumpStart Technology - $189.81
Price history
×
Price history for Troy-Bilt TB42 BC 27cc 2-Cycle Gas Brushcutter with JumpStart Technology
Latest updates:
  • $189.81 - May 25, 2018
  • $186.79 - May 20, 2018
  • $189.81 - May 19, 2018
  • $186.79 - May 18, 2018
  • $189.81 - May 16, 2018
  • $186.79 - May 14, 2018
  • $186.80 - May 13, 2018
  • $189.81 - May 11, 2018
Since: April 10, 2018
  • Highest Price: $189.81 - April 26, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $184.52 - April 10, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: June 20, 2018 9:06 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Troy-Bilt TB42 BC 27cc 2-Cycle Gas Brushcutter with JumpStart Technology

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was in: June 20, 2018 6:59 pm

back to menu ↑

The Best Cordless Weed Trimmers

If you are looking for a good weed eater that are lightweight and won’t break your back or strain your muscles, you might want to check out these trimmers. There are 3 options available for you and we are sure that we have one listed that will meet your needs.

8.3/10 Read review
83 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: GMAX DigiPro Brushless 40-Volt Attachment Capable Electric Cordless String Trimmer- 4 Ah Battery and Charger Included - $186.00
Price history
×
Price history for GMAX DigiPro Brushless 40-Volt Attachment Capable Electric Cordless String Trimmer- 4 Ah Battery and Charger Included
Latest updates:
  • $186.00 - June 9, 2018
  • $169.03 - May 26, 2018
  • $167.52 - May 19, 2018
Since: May 19, 2018
  • Highest Price: $186.00 - June 9, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $167.52 - May 19, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: June 20, 2018 8:00 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Greenworks 14-Inch 40V Cordless String Trimmer (Attachment Capable), 4.0 AH Battery Included...

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was in: June 20, 2018 6:59 pm

$232.61 $249.00

7.5/10 Read review
75 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: 14 in. 5 Amp Corded String Trimmer - $50.47
Price history
×
Price history for 14 in. 5 Amp Corded String Trimmer
Latest updates:
  • $50.47 - June 16, 2018
  • $49.00 - May 22, 2018
Since: May 22, 2018
  • Highest Price: $50.47 - June 16, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $49.00 - May 22, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: June 20, 2018 12:58 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Toro PowerPlex 51481 40V MAX Lithium Ion 13" Cordless String Trimmer/Edger, 2.5...

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was in: June 20, 2018 6:59 pm
8.8/10 Read review
88 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: WORX 32-Volt GT2.0 String Trimmer/Edger/Mini-Mower with Tilting Head and Single Line Feed - $133.93
Price history
×
Price history for WORX 32-Volt GT2.0 String Trimmer/Edger/Mini-Mower with Tilting Head and Single Line Feed
Latest updates:
  • $133.93 - June 20, 2018
  • $132.53 - June 19, 2018
  • $132.94 - June 18, 2018
  • $131.62 - June 16, 2018
  • $131.84 - June 14, 2018
  • $131.80 - June 13, 2018
  • $133.68 - June 12, 2018
  • $133.47 - June 11, 2018
Since: April 10, 2018
  • Highest Price: $169.99 - May 4, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $119.99 - May 2, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: June 20, 2018 9:06 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

WORX 32-Volt GT2.0 String Trimmer/Edger/Mini-Mower with Tilting Head and Single Line Feed

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was in: June 20, 2018 6:59 pm

back to menu ↑

Weed Whackers Around Or Under $100.00

If you are looking for a good weed trimmer that is not going to cause you to sell your firstborn son to pay for it, then you might want to check out these trimmers. There are 4 options available for you and we are sure that we have one listed that will meet your needs.

90 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: 13 in. 20-Volt MAX Lithium-Ion Cordless Brushless Dual Line String Grass Trimmer - Battery and Charger Not Included - $119.00
Last Amazon price update was: June 20, 2018 1:58 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

DEWALT DCST920B 20V Lithium Ion XR Brushless String Trimmer (Baretool)

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was in: June 20, 2018 6:59 pm

$119.00 $119.96

8.8/10 Read review
88 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Black & Decker LSTE525BT SMARTECH 20V MAX Cordless Lithium-Ion EASYFEED 12 in. String Trimmer - $104.98
Price history
×
Price history for Black & Decker LSTE525BT SMARTECH 20V MAX Cordless Lithium-Ion EASYFEED 12 in. String Trimmer
Latest updates:
  • $104.98 - May 25, 2018
  • $94.21 - May 18, 2018
Since: May 18, 2018
  • Highest Price: $104.98 - May 25, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $94.21 - May 18, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: June 20, 2018 4:00 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

BLACK+DECKER LSTE525BT 20V Smartech Max Easy Feed String Trimmer

Usually ships in 24 hours & Free shipping
Last update was in: June 20, 2018 6:59 pm
8.5/10 Read review
85 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: ONE+ 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger - 2.6 Ah Battery and Charger Included - $89.00
Last Amazon price update was: June 20, 2018 2:11 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Ryobi P2060 One+ 18v Lithium-Ion 12in. String Trimmer/Edger Kit

Usually ships in 4-5 business days
Last update was in: June 20, 2018 6:59 pm
7.8/10 Read review
78 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: PowerPlex 13 in. 40-Volt Max Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger - $139.99
Last Amazon price update was: June 20, 2018 1:58 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
  • Product
  • Features
  • Photos

Toro 51480A 14" Electric Trimmer

Usually ships in 4-5 business days
Last update was in: June 20, 2018 6:59 pm

back to menu ↑

Preparing For The Summer Landscaping Season

Whether you live in the mountains, the suburbs, or the family farm, you are going to love your new weed trimmer. Getting rid of the drudgery of getting out the ole shovel and trowel, or even getting out your grandfathers scythe, and going out and chopping down weeds by hand will be well worth the investment.

Once you buy your new weed trimmer you will never regret your decision. You will be one step closer to being prepared for the summer landscaping season. You will have arrived in weed whacking heaven.

For more information about weed trimmers and their uses we recommend reading these articles for further study.

Duke Taber is the owner of 3 successful websites and is now taking his skill as a webmaster and using it to help non-profit organizations and leaders around the world.

We would be happy to hear your thoughts on this item.

      Leave a reply