What Are The Best Weed Trimmers In 2018 – Editors Choice Awards

When you are on the hunt for the best weed trimmer, weed whacker, weed eater, whatever you want to call it, it is essential that you do your research. They can be expensive. Many are upwards of $500.00 or more. However, they are worth the price. The difference between pulling those weeds by hand and mowing them down with a weed whacker is like night and day.

It is amazing how quick it can be done. That is why we at Taber’s Best Reviews set out on a journey to discover the best gas, cordless, and inexpensive weed trimmers for you. We know your time is valuable and you would rather spend time with your family and friends instead of spending hours on the internet reading about things like lithium-ion batteries, two-cycle engines, and manufacturer reputations. We spent hours researching and testing each product on our list of trimmers is the best that can be found on the internet.

We consulted with experts who have used these machines in the most extreme conditions. We also looked at things like size, maneuverability, durability, and reliability. We know that you will be using your weed eater for years to come and we wanted to make sure that we were giving you good advice.

In this article, you will find a quick price comparison chart of the best weed trimmers, and then below you will find product listings for each weed eater pulled from Amazon’s product database for you to compare. We have broken them up into these categories. Best overall trimmers, best gas powered trimmers, best cordless trimmers and the top trimmers under $100.00But before you start, here is an informational video from Consumer Reports that will help you know what to look for in a weed whacker.

Our Top Picks

Last update was on: November 18, 2018 3:12 pm

back to menu ↑

How We Chose These Weed Whackers

Why You Should Trust Us

We spent over 40 hours researching and writing this list of trimmers so you wouldn’t have to spend your time doing the research. We consulted with the top experts in the industry and coupled that with our own experience to bring you this list.  We do not accept free products or incentives when we review products to keep our opinions unbiased and helpful to our readers.

In making this list of weed whackers, we kept three things in mind: Features, price, and customer satisfaction.

Features

One of the most important things about purchasing a new weed eater is the features that the trimmer has. How easy is it to start? Is it electric or gas powered? Is it hard to maneuver? Does it have the power for deep or thick weeds? Is it large enough for big jobs? How well does it do in tight spaces?

All of these things are important in choosing your new trimmer, or deciding which one will be an excellent gift for a friend or loved one. So that is what we looked for in a trimmer. We only picked trimmers that had one or more of these options.

Price

We kept the price range around $300.00 or less so that anyone can afford to invest in a top-notch weed whacker. When you start getting more expensive than that, then you are heading into commercial grade trimmers, and this article is for the average person.

When buying your first weed eater, you might not want to buy the most expensive one. You might want to start off small and then upgrade later if you feel that you need to. That is why we have also included some weed trimmers that range under $100.00 for you.

Most people buy a weed whacker to make the job of removing unsightly weeds much easier and make their quality of life better. We made sure that we only listed the trimmers that will accomplish that goal.

Customer Satisfaction

Every weed eater that we have listed are rated by customers at 80% positive or higher depending on the rating system used on different websites. We do not list companies that do not take care of their customers.

We also read all the individual customer reviews to see how well the manufacturer responded to customer issues and how well people recommended these trimmers. We only took into account customers with a verified purchase. They are real buyers reviewing the product.

back to menu ↑

Which Are The Best?

Picking the best weed trimmer depends upon your needs.

  • What type of weed removal are you doing?
  • Do you want gas, electric, wired or wireless?
  • Do you need to be able to cut massive amounts of weeds?
  • How wide of a cutting path do you desire?
  • How long will it take you to clear your weeds if you are using an electric weed whacker? Do you need extended battery life?

These are the type of questions you need to think about when buying a new weed eater. Not all of the machines will fit your need.

Here is our list of trimmers that we think you should consider.

back to menu ↑

The Best Quality Weed Trimmer – Editors Choice

Quality is one of the primary considerations when purchasing a weed trimmer for yourself or a loved one. That is why we have started our weed whacker list with the best quality weed eaters available. We included one gas-powered trimmer and one cordless trimmer. They are the best overall option.

The two weed eaters listed in this category were chosen based on the materials used in the construction of the trimmer and the reputation of the brands. These trimmers qualify as upper-end weed trimmers that would rival any trimmer in the industry.

90 %
Price history
×
Price history for Husqvarna 128LD 17-Inch Straight Shaft Detachable String Trimmer, 28cc
Latest updates:
  • $218.73 - November 19, 2018
  • $216.71 - November 19, 2018
  • $217.05 - November 19, 2018
  • $216.83 - November 18, 2018
  • $217.22 - November 18, 2018
  • $217.35 - November 18, 2018
  • $217.56 - November 18, 2018
  • $216.72 - November 17, 2018
Since: August 25, 2018
  • Highest Price: $219.95 - September 3, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $183.33 - October 31, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: November 19, 2018 8:14 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Husqvarna 128LD 17-Inch

2 used from $195.00
Free shipping
Last update was on: November 18, 2018 3:12 pm
in stock
$216.83 $219.95

First Runner Up For Best Weed Trimmer

9.4/10 Read review
94 %
Price history
×
Price history for Makita XRU09Z 18V X2 (36V) LXT Lithium-Ion Brushless Cordless String Trimmer, Tool Only
Latest updates:
  • $228.99 - November 19, 2018
  • $229.00 - November 8, 2018
  • $249.00 - October 26, 2018
  • $239.99 - October 2, 2018
  • $237.99 - September 29, 2018
  • $239.99 - September 28, 2018
  • $249.00 - September 28, 2018
  • $239.99 - August 31, 2018
Since: August 24, 2018
  • Highest Price: $249.00 - August 24, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $228.99 - November 19, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: November 19, 2018 10:11 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Makita XRU09Z 18V X2 (36V) LXT

Free shipping
Last update was on: November 18, 2018 3:12 pm
in stock
$229.00 $249.00

Best Gas Powered Weed Eater

For large jobs that take much muscle and cutting power, you should consider a gas powered trimmer. The only drawback is that they are more substantial than their cordless counterparts. They might be too much for small people or senior citizens. Along with the one we listed above, this gas powered weed whacker should be considered as well.

8.9/10 Read review
89 %
Price history
×
Price history for Troy-Bilt TB42 BC 27cc 2-Cycle Gas Brushcutter with JumpStart Technology
Latest updates:
  • $190.77 - October 15, 2018
  • $188.75 - October 14, 2018
  • $190.77 - September 28, 2018
  • $192.78 - September 19, 2018
  • $191.56 - September 19, 2018
  • $192.78 - September 8, 2018
  • $190.77 - September 6, 2018
  • $196.26 - September 5, 2018
Since: May 25, 2018
  • Highest Price: $196.26 - September 5, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $185.66 - July 18, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: November 19, 2018 10:11 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Troy-Bilt TB42 BC 27cc

2 used from $166.72
Free shipping
Last update was on: November 18, 2018 3:12 pm
in stock
$190.77 $202.99

The Best Cordless Weed Trimmers

If you are looking for a good weed eater that is lightweight and won’t break your back or strain your muscles, you might want to check out these trimmers. There are three options available to you, and we are sure that we have one that will meet your needs.

8.4/10 Read review
84 %
Last Amazon price update was: November 19, 2018 1:14 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Greenworks 14-Inch 40V Cordless String Trimmer (Attachment Capable), Battery Not Included 2100202

2 used from $116.98
Free shipping
Last update was on: November 18, 2018 3:12 pm
in stock
$121.99 $169.00
7.5/10 Read review
75 %
Price history
×
Price history for Toro 14 in. 5 Amp Corded String Trimmer
Latest updates:
  • $51.31 - November 18, 2018
  • $51.45 - November 11, 2018
  • $53.19 - October 23, 2018
  • $51.31 - October 13, 2018
Since: October 13, 2018
  • Highest Price: $53.19 - October 23, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $51.31 - October 13, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: November 19, 2018 1:12 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Toro PowerPlex 51481 40V MAX

1 used from $92.92
Last update was on: November 18, 2018 3:12 pm
in stock
$139.99 $159.99
8.9/10 Read review
89 %
Price history
×
Price history for Worx 20V Battery + Charger Included 20-Volt GT 2.0 String Trimmer/Edger/Mini-Mower with Tilting Head and Single Line Feed – WG160
Latest updates:
  • $126.00 - November 17, 2018
  • $113.92 - November 8, 2018
  • $129.99 - November 7, 2018
  • $123.49 - November 6, 2018
  • $100.78 - November 5, 2018
  • $72.28 - November 4, 2018
  • $123.49 - November 3, 2018
  • $74.35 - November 2, 2018
Since: October 13, 2018
  • Highest Price: $129.99 - November 7, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $72.28 - November 4, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: November 19, 2018 1:14 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Worx WG924.1 GT 2.0 & AIR 32V Cordless String Trimmer & Leaf Blower/Sweeper Combo Kit

Last update was on: November 18, 2018 3:12 pm
in stock

Weed Whackers Around Or Under $100.00

If you are looking for a good weed trimmer that is not going to cause you to sell your firstborn son to pay for it, then you might want to check out these trimmers. There are four options available to you, and we are sure that we have one that will meet your needs.

9.3/10 Read review
93 %
Price history
×
Price history for DEWALT 20V MAX Li-Ion XR Brushless 13" String Trimmer (Bare Tool) DCST920B New
Latest updates:
  • $132.07 - November 5, 2018
  • $134.99 - October 13, 2018
Since: October 13, 2018
  • Highest Price: $134.99 - October 13, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $132.07 - November 5, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: November 19, 2018 11:12 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

DEWALT DCST920B 20V

3 used from $119.97
Last update was on: November 18, 2018 3:12 pm
out of stock
$129.00 $149.00
8.8/10 Read review
88 %
Last Amazon price update was: November 19, 2018 1:14 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

BLACK+DECKER LSTE525BT 20V

1 used from $46.56
Last update was on: November 18, 2018 3:12 pm
in stock
$96.29 $149.99
8.6/10 Read review
86 %
Last Amazon price update was: November 19, 2018 8:14 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Ryobi P2060 One+

1 used from $98.99
Last update was on: November 18, 2018 3:12 pm
in stock
7.9/10 Read review
79 %
Price history
×
Price history for Toro PowerPlex 13 in. 40-Volt Max Lithium-Ion Cordless String Trimmer/Edger -
Latest updates:
  • $129.99 - November 6, 2018
  • $103.99 - October 13, 2018
Since: October 13, 2018
  • Highest Price: $129.99 - November 6, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $103.99 - October 13, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: November 19, 2018 3:12 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Toro 51480A 14"

1 used from $36.89
Last update was on: November 18, 2018 3:12 pm
in stock
$57.67 $65.49
Do YOU Want To Take Your Landscaping To The Next Level? Are YOU Tired Of Weeds Making Your Yard Ugly? We Spent Hours Researching The Best Weed Trimmers On The Market In 2018 To Bring YOU This List Of The Top Weed Whackers You Can Buy. #lawn #lawncare  #landscaping #weedtrimmers #weedwhackers #stringtrimmers #TabersBestReviews

Duke Taber is the owner of 3 successful websites and is now taking his skill as a writer and using it to help non-profit organizations and leaders around the world.

We would be happy to hear your thoughts on this item.

      Leave a reply

      Pin
      Share
      Tweet